We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“angie and pete hornsea”
Review of Alcuin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcuin Lodge
Ranked #3 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“angie and pete hornsea”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in room 3 it was lovely and spotless the bed was really comfy .darren the owner is such a lovely friendly man ..the breakfast is lovely and plenty of it didnt want to leave will be back .

Room Tip: what ever room you get you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 245ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Angie / Pete, thank you so much for your lovely comments. I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you enjoyed your stay here, the breakfast, the comfort and the hospitality. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
229
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colac, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were welcomed by Darren and provided with really good information of eating places, sights to see, drinking places (Darren's local is a must!!). Room was spotless with quality bedding and bathroom facilities. Parking was easy with a permit provided, but the location is so close and easy walking that our vehicle stayed put for the 2 days. OUr breakfasts were lovely, and the fact that we amended the Full English Breakfasts to something a little more modest was appreciated. I think Darren thought my one poached egg looked a little sad on the plate, but was cheerfully prepared anyway. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Good to hear that you enjoyed your time in York and your stay at Alcuin Lodge. Yes, The Minster Inn is a friendly little spot (reserved for our guests, I like to think). Glad I was able to be part of your UK trip. I hope you'll back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Darren, our host, was fantastic. He welcomed us in, even though we arrived late in the evening. The house was very clean, and breakfast was very well done. The location is good, and it's an easy walk across a park to get into the busy part of town. It's easy to get to all the main attractions. The price was good. We'd love to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainMorgan1663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
What lovely comments - thank you so much. I'm really pleased you liked York and that you felt well looked after at Alcuin Lodge. It's always good to know what we're doing well so we can keep doing it / do more! I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were met by Darren. He is a mine of information about places and times and gave some great recommendations. Breakfast is superb and he even added a birthday candle to one of my hash browns..... The Lodge is about a 5 minute walk to the Minster and the town centre. It's spotlessly clean and the rooms are great. Parking is easy as Darren provided a permit and as its so close to town it stayed there. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which is on the second floor, plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joliv1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Great to hear that you had such a great stay and thank you for your kind comments about the hospitality you received at Alcuin Lodge. I enjoyed having you to stay and I'm pleased I was able to help with York insider information. As far as location goes, you're right that a car really isn't needed and we're so close to the station that it's often easier to come by train. See you again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely B&B, Darren was the perfect host, taking time to understand what we wanted to do in York and giving us some tips on where's good to go and also providing us with a little map.

Breakfast was quality and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Great location, 7 minutes walk to the centre. Bed was ultra comfortable. Will be returning next year for sure.

Thank You Darren

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHelena1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
A great way to start the week, hearing that you had a good time on your visit to York and enjoyed your stay at Alcuin Lodge. You certainly made the most of your short trip and I'm glad you loved York and want to return. I really appreciate your lovely feedback as it helps to know the things we're doing right so we can do more of them. See you next year (or sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived after a long journey from the USA. The location was perfect (easy walk from train and to city center and quiet street), spotless room and yummy breakfast! Our room was nice and warm since we had snow. Darren was extremely helpful before our arrival and during our stay in York. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Sharon, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback . I'm pleased to hear that Alcuin Lodge provided you with such a good start to your trip and that you enjoyed your stay here. I hope you'll come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent the weekend here to mark my milestone/millstone birthday. The location is great for the city centre being only a five minute stroll away if you know the shortcuts under the railway and along the river. The building is a lovely old period house retaining lots of original features and decorated to an immaculate standard, decked out with shabby chic antique furniture mixed with great modern gadgets and fittings.
We managed to get free parking outside the house as our host Darren gave us a parking pass saving us the price of a fair few rounds (much appreciated)
Our welcome was first class, so polite and friendly and were quickly taken to room 4 in the top of the house. The room is immaculate looking out over the back of the house towards the river. The ensuite is very well appointed with a classy shower enclosure and top end touches like backlit mirrors. The bed is really comfortable with deep duvets and pillows. Everything about the room has a touch of class way above what i would expect for the price paid.
Breakfasts at the Alcuin are a thing of beauty, the quality of the sausages and bacon are a perfect set up for a busy days sightseeing and pub crawling.
Finally our host, Darren is so enthusiastic about his establishment, his customer service is absolutly amazing. I know York well having been born there, but he knows some of the best places to go, giving you the chance to make the most of your stay.

Room Tip: Take your slippers as there is a shoes off in the hallway policy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Steve, thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed comments about your stay here. We seem to have become a birthday/anniversary getaway guest house, which is great and you certainly made the most of your visit "home". Your feedback about Alcuin Lodge is really appreciated and great to know that we met your expectations. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 192 in York
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcuin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcuin Lodge

Property: Alcuin Lodge
Address: 15 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcuin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of an Edwardian family, Alcuin Lodge is now a comfortable guest house in the centre of York, with light and airy bedrooms, recently refurbished modern bathrooms and a welcoming breakfast room. Alcuin Lodge is the perfect place to stay during your visit to York, a City boasting some of the most amazing architecture and history in the UK. We are a short stroll away from the city walls, the Minster, Museum Gardens and city centre where you will find Betty's tea rooms, the Yorvik Viking centre, York Dungeon, a vast array of shops and many more places to explore. There is something for everyone to enjoy, all within walking distance. We are in a great location for the popular business areas and University, making Alcuin Lodge a great setting for business travellers and those visiting friends and family. Alcuin Lodge is a ten minute walk from the station. There is free on street parking available opposite the property, on a first-come, first-served basis. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms and contain televisions with Freeview and DVD player. Towels and a hospitality tray are provided. We also have free WiFi available throughout. Our small double room has its own private bathroom which is a few steps away from your door. There is a sink with shaver point fitted in this bedroom for your convenience. We can arrange for flowers or chocolates to be in your room on arrival, or for champagne to be delivered. Breakfast is freshly cooked every morning, offering a traditional English breakfast (with bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, mushrooms, egg...) And toast. There is also a selection of cereal, juices, jams and tea and coffee. We can cater for vegetarian and gluten free diets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alcuin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcuin Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing