We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Alcuin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcuin Lodge
Ranked #3 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent hospitality, spotlessly clean rooms, lovely breakfast tailored to your individual dietary needs and a great location only 10 minutes walk from the centre of town this place is certainly the number 1 place to stay in York with a host who'll bend over backwards to accommodate your every need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Malcolm, I'm delighted you enjoyed your weekend stay in York and that Alcuin Lodge provided you with a great base to make the most of the city. We really enjoyed having you all here and hope it won't be too long before you come back to do all those things you didn't have time to do on your recent visit (lots more great real ale pubs in the CAMRA guide!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
220
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for two nights in this bed and breakfast. Wonderful from start to finish! Darren, the owner greeted us as we arrived and was very welcoming and informative. Darren helped us with our bags to the room and gave us info on any of the tourist spots to go to and places to see, eat etc. The whole house is spotless and the room was faultless - clean, beautifully decorated and warm. Breakfast was lovely on both mornings, would very much recommend the full English breakfast! All in all a lovely stay - keep up the good work!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bethan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Bethan, thank you for your glowing review. I'm really pleased you had such a good time on your birthday trip. It's lovely to know that you appreciated the work we have put in to ensure our visitors are comfortable and that our breakfast set you up for the day. We certainly plan to "keep up the good work" and it's really helpful to know that we're getting things right. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Pidsea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed one night in this lovely guesthouse for my hubbys birthday. Perfect from start to finish. We were greeted on arrival by Darren the owner who is very friendly. The guesthouse is immaculate and very tasteful and classic. Our room was beautiful, crisp, white sheets and plenty of pillows. I don't usually have a cooked breakfast but I did and it was scrumptious! AND free parking what a bonus as only a 5 minute walk from the centre. See you again Alcuin Lodge!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It's great to hear that you and the "birthday boy" enjoyed your visit to us and that you enjoyed both the bed AND breakfast elements of your stay. We enjoyed having you here too and hope it won't be too long before your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed one night with my friend for my birthday, do it every year. This is the nicest B&B I have stayed in, in York and I have stayed in a few! Everything was perfect from the warm friendly welcome and the comfortable rooms, to the free parking, great location and lovely fresh breakfast. Would highly recommend the Alcuin to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay. Just to add Darren, we came second at the awards ceremony in London on Monday night, highly commended! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisipoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm really pleased you had a great visit to York and enjoyed staying at Alcuin Lodge. It's good to know we are getting things right for our guests. Congratulations on the commendation at your awards ceremony - the investment in the new outfit was obviously worth it! I look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just stayed for the weekend. Lovely guesthouse- very clean, warm and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast.
Darren was very helpful at showing places to visit, eat and shop! The position is really great for the centre of York- lovely quiet road, free parking, but just a short walk in to the centre.
Will definately go back here- and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Jo, thank you for taking the time to give feedback. I'm delighted you had a great weekend - we're very proud of York so it's great you were able to make the most of it during your stay with us and that you enjoyed Alcuin Lodge. Do tell your friends and family to give us a call - we'd love to have them to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a couple of nights here and honestly couldn't fault it. Nice house, nice room. The owner is great, very friendly and only too keen to advise on things to do in York. Great location as it's tucked away on a quiet street with parking, but only a 5 minute walk into town. And most important of all.....the breakfast was lovely!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vindaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Alcuin Lodge itself, our setting and in particular, the hospitality you received - great to know that we made your stay so enjoyable. Come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just got back from a fantastic five night stay at Alcuin Lodge
The homely B&B exceeded our expectations!
Darren couldn't have done more for us, and the lovely breakfast was a bonus
The location is perfect, a quiet area, however only a 3 minute walk into the town centre
I cannot rate this gorgeous place enough, my own bed just wasn't the same after staying here!
Stayed in many places in york, but i will only return here
I can't thank Darren enough, i will be sending my friends and family his way!!!
* * * * * 5 stars for Alcuin Lodge x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige-Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcuinLodgeYork, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Paige, thanks for your feedback. I'm so pleased you felt well looked after. You certainly made the most of your visit to York and it was fun to have you here. I'll await the calls from your family and friends and hope we can ensure they enjoy their stay as much as you did. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcuin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcuin Lodge

Property: Alcuin Lodge
Address: 15 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcuin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of an Edwardian family, Alcuin Lodge is now a comfortable guest house in the centre of York, with light and airy bedrooms, recently refurbished modern bathrooms and a welcoming breakfast room. Alcuin Lodge is the perfect place to stay during your visit to York, a City boasting some of the most amazing architecture and history in the UK. We are a short stroll away from the city walls, the Minster, Museum Gardens and city centre where you will find Betty's tea rooms, the Yorvik Viking centre, York Dungeon, a vast array of shops and many more places to explore. There is something for everyone to enjoy, all within walking distance. We are in a great location for the popular business areas and University, making Alcuin Lodge a great setting for business travellers and those visiting friends and family. Alcuin Lodge is a ten minute walk from the station. There is free on street parking available opposite the property, on a first-come, first-served basis. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms and contain televisions with Freeview and DVD player. Towels and a hospitality tray are provided. We also have free WiFi available throughout. Our small double room has its own private bathroom which is a few steps away from your door. There is a sink with shaver point fitted in this bedroom for your convenience. We can arrange for flowers or chocolates to be in your room on arrival, or for champagne to be delivered. Breakfast is freshly cooked every morning, offering a traditional English breakfast (with bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, mushrooms, egg...) And toast. There is also a selection of cereal, juices, jams and tea and coffee. We can cater for vegetarian and gluten free diets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alcuin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcuin Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing