We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Anniversary to Remember”
Review of Ashley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashley House
Ranked #18 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

To celebrate a year together my partner and I decided to spend the weekend in York. After enquiring at several guest houses in the area I was told to try Phil at the Ashley down the road. Quite possible one of the greatest pieces of advice I think I've been given in a very long time. The Ashley is relatively easy to find (although we did drive straight past it first time!!) and very suitably located. There is a pub, a set of shops, cafe's a chippy (and a bookies if you are that way inclined) within 5 minutes walk, and 10 minutes walk and you are in the city centre right next to York Castle.

We stayed in Room 2 (of 5 I believe) which contained a lovely metal frame bed, and a beautiful wooden dresser. The bed was made with beautiful white cotton sheets and fluffy towels also provided. There was a TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities (complete with shortbread!!) The room was en suite with a very good power shower. The rooms are not flashy, they are not luxurious, but they are well looked after and beautiful nonetheless providing you with everything that you need and would expect from a Guest House.

Our host Phil greeted us on arrival. Any questions about the area we had he was more than willing to answer for us. He provided us with a map and drew the route into town on there for us as well as providing several leaflets about various attractions in York.

However the main asset the Ashley has is its breakfasts. Basically you go into the dining room, Phil asks you which combination of breakfast items you would like to appear on your plate, and 5 to 10 minutes later it appears. As much toast, juice, cereal and coffee/tea as you would like eaten in a small but very pleasant and cosy dining room. Due to the amount of rooms there are obviously not a huge amount of guests, so a huge room is not needed.

When we revisit York we will most definitely be staying at the Ashley again and we would recommend that you do as well.

One piece of advice I would give to anyone visiting York however: prebook your taxis!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGinge180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Ashley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 365 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

Easy 10 min walk to downtown York. Nice neighborhood. Great hospitality. Clean. Would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We have just returned from a Two night stay and was very impressed from the minute we walked through the door and were given a warm welcome by Phil,he was so nice and helpful.Our room was at the top floor it was spotless & well presented.The room had a roll top bath in it which was really nice,big enough for 2 ha ha.the breakfast was really nice,the choice on the menu was really good considering the size of the guest house.The walk into york takes 10-15 Min's but is an enjoyable flat walk.We have stopped elsewhere in york before,but will definitely stop here in the future.A very enjoyable stay in a well run,friendly guest house!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanneeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This is a decent, value-for-money guest house located only a few minutes' walk from the centre of York. Our room was comfortable, if a little on the small side. The owner/host, Phil, has an easy, charming manner and makes you feel right at home. The breakfast service was smooth and the food served piping hot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scissorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Phil was a wonderful host; most helpful and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was 5*, hot and cooked to order - unique! Very small niggle was that room 6 had small double bed and was very dark - difficult for ladies of a certain age to see to do makeup and dry hair - also toilet could sometime emit a slight odour when mulching. However, it would not stop me from going back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Great value we had room 3 which we were told had no window but did not find this to be a problem a great place to stay with only a short walk into the City, breakfast was the highlight and really well cooked with decent ingredients (none of those cheap sausages that other places serve) in the words of Phil 'Super', thanks to Phil for his route map that he kindly gave us directing us to our venue (Fibbers) will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorPollitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Spent two nights found the owner very friendly. Helped with information on sights of york.
Breakfast very good cooked to order.Also not the normal cooking smells that end up in the dinning room.Bedroom comfortable quiet and clean, stayed in room 1 which has king size bed, great.Ten mins walk to town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasman3blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 47 in York
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House

Address: 76 Scott Street | Off Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NS, England (Formerly Ashley Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $103 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run bed and breakfast just a short walk into the city centre. We have 6 beautifully appointed bedrooms all with their unique style. We offer a wide range for breakfast from our famous 'Yorkie breakfast' to french toast. During your stay there are also free cakes and cookies:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ashley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing