We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Ashley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley House
Ranked #18 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I was here in early August, my stay was very pleasant, the room and bathroom perfect, everything very clean. Breakfast is excellent and very various. Phil, the owner, was truly kind and very helpful. I highly recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 373 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

I loved this place. I would recommend it to anyone visiting York. The welcome was warm, the room (number 4) was beautifully decorated, the bed was really comfortable and breakfast was delicious. :)

The owner and the other staff we met were very nice. They gave us a map and told us how to get to the city centre from there. York is not too big so distance was not a problem.

I also thought it was great that they lent CDs (which you can play in your room) and books.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eneate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in mid August in 'room 3'. We were contacted within a few hours of booking online to inform us that the room we had booked was an internal room with no exterior window and we were asked to confirm we were happy with that. The room was small but perfect for my wife and I. The ensuite was small and clean. The wardrobe was small and there wasn't an easy plug to get to for the kettle but that wasn't an issue really.

The owners were great, they were welcoming and attentive and remembered what we'd been up to and always made us feel welcome. The breakfast was great, the entire menu was locally sourced with details of where from where listed on an award for best Yorkshire breakfast! The owners were on hand to offer advice on where to go to shop and where to eat depending on your budget and had great local knowledge.

Overall it was a great stay and we'll be going back later in the year!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonBurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had room 4, i only mention that as all the rooms are different. This is a lovely guest house, and the owners are great, very helpful and welcoming. Remember that this is a guest house, not a chain hotel, so you get individuality and charm, and are made to feel like you are staying with family. The location is only a short walk into the centre of York, The breakfast we managed to attend was fabulous.

Thanks Phil x

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQUKEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here for two nights with our 19yr old son. The guest house is in a quiet location very near to town....10 mins walk. We were given room 1 which was lovely. However it could have done with a few shelves etc for placing clothes and maybe a shelf at the sink for toiletries. However the bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. My son was given room 3 which was large enough but had NO window! Had we been told this when booking we would not have stayed. It was 26degrees outside but i think it was 40 in the room. A fan was supplied but this didnt help and it couldnt be left on overnight as it was too noisy. The breakfast was delicious and a great selection. Thank you to Phil for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrotcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very friendly & helpful owner who knows the area and was willing to recommend places to eat, best way to drive around the city & countryside etc. It's only about a 10 minute walk to the central area of York so was a great base for visiting.

The room was fairly basic (though nicely decorated) but had everything required. Bit of a squeeze finding somewhere to plug the kettle in and make a cup of tea.

The outstanding feature though was the breakfasts.... consistently delicious, always fresh and far better quality than other more 'exclusive' places visited.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshillab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Good points: A very nice room, good breakfast. Bad: owner disappears and if you have any questions, bad luck. Our parking spot was taken when we returned one day and we were unsure where else we could park with the permit he gave us. At the start he'd told us to call him on his mobile if we needed anything...too bad if you did, this man does not want to know his guests. Couldn't get hold of him either day. This was the only place in the entire month we travelled that the owner did not seem to want to spend a minute with his guests. Everywhere else the owners were knowledgeable, friendly and eager to assist.Try a little harder, mate. A great room alone does not make a great b & b.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 195 in York
1,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 195 in York
365 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 195 in York
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 195 in York
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.9 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 195 in York
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House

Address: 76 Scott Street | Off Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NS, England (Formerly Ashley Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $85 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run bed and breakfast just a short walk into the city centre. We have 6 beautifully appointed bedrooms all with their unique style. We offer a wide range for breakfast from our famous 'Yorkie breakfast' to french toast. During your stay there are also free cakes and cookies:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing