We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice - but dont book room 3.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley House
Ranked #16 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice - but dont book room 3.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here for two nights with our 19yr old son. The guest house is in a quiet location very near to town....10 mins walk. We were given room 1 which was lovely. However it could have done with a few shelves etc for placing clothes and maybe a shelf at the sink for toiletries. However the bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. My son was given room 3 which was large enough but had NO window! Had we been told this when booking we would not have stayed. It was 26degrees outside but i think it was 40 in the room. A fan was supplied but this didnt help and it couldnt be left on overnight as it was too noisy. The breakfast was delicious and a great selection. Thank you to Phil for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrotcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    44
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
230
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very friendly & helpful owner who knows the area and was willing to recommend places to eat, best way to drive around the city & countryside etc. It's only about a 10 minute walk to the central area of York so was a great base for visiting.

The room was fairly basic (though nicely decorated) but had everything required. Bit of a squeeze finding somewhere to plug the kettle in and make a cup of tea.

The outstanding feature though was the breakfasts.... consistently delicious, always fresh and far better quality than other more 'exclusive' places visited.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mshillab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Good points: A very nice room, good breakfast. Bad: owner disappears and if you have any questions, bad luck. Our parking spot was taken when we returned one day and we were unsure where else we could park with the permit he gave us. At the start he'd told us to call him on his mobile if we needed anything...too bad if you did, this man does not want to know his guests. Couldn't get hold of him either day. This was the only place in the entire month we travelled that the owner did not seem to want to spend a minute with his guests. Everywhere else the owners were knowledgeable, friendly and eager to assist.Try a little harder, mate. A great room alone does not make a great b & b.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Stayed in room 1 with a big comfy bed. made very welcome on arrival and lovely and clean place. Breakfast lovely, set us up for the day. Thanks Phil (the owner) hope to be back soon

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgea71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Ashley Guest house for one night in Room 4, a lovely room with traditional character. This is the first B&B we have ever stayed in and it was fantastic, from the minute I booked and spoke to Phil on the telephone I was impressed and when we arrived we were delighted, we received such a friendly welcome from Phil and could'nt have been looked after better. Breakfast was lovely with a great choice and again wonderful service. We will certainly return to the Ashley guest house and we would definitely recommend it as the perfect place to stay in York.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsmanhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canarias
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

Ashley Guest House is the best B&B we´ve ever stayed!!
The place is beutiful, nice decoration and really comfortable bed. Perfect shower!
The breakfast is just awesome with a plenty of choice. The owner, Phil is really kind and helped us a lot while we stayed there!
It´s a Guest House but is so clean that could be a 5 stars hotel!
Will surely come again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Ashley House B&B last month for two nights. Our trip to York was very last minute and I had been planning to stay at the Travelodge, but when I saw they were looking for £175 for two nights, I thought I’d look elsewhere! I am really glad we did, as Ashley House is a beautiful B&B with great character. We stayed in room 5 and it was absolutely lovely, whoever decorated this house has a great eye for design as all the areas we saw where beautifully decorated. They have remained sensitive to the age of the house, but included all mod cons. It’s kind of like staying in a modern version of your grannies house! It makes a nice change from the usual soulless boxes that pass as hotel rooms these days. Our room wasn’t huge but it was an adequate size with a wrought iron bed, traditional dresser with tea, coffee and shortbread, a flat screen TV and a clever hanging unit that acted as a space saving wardrobe. It was decorated in soothing green with panelling halfway up the walls and wallpaper on the top half. The bathroom was large with the most amazingly powerful shower. I didn’t want to get out of it! A couple of things about the bathroom though, there was no mat to stand on when you got out of the shower and absolutely no hooks, so you had nowhere to hang your towel. Room 5 was at the front of the house, but we only found it noisy one night as we had the window open (the heat seems to be on all day and the room gets very warm unless you turn it off). Otherwise the road that Ashley house is on seems very quiet.

The breakfast was tasty and had a good choice, again the breakfast room was beautifully decorated. I liked the fact that there was a toaster in the breakfast room with a basket of assorted bread so you can help yourself. I hate when B&B’s are stingy with toast and leave you asking for more! Everything we had for breakfast was delicious including the coffee and juice.

The location of the B&B is ok, previous posters have said it is a 10 minute walk into town, but to get into the old town proper it is more like 15-20 minutes. It would be my preference to stay a little closer to the town, but on the plus side, the street is quiet as a result. There is permit parking outside and you are given a permit when you check in. Just be careful where you park, the permit only allows you park in certain areas, the owner will point them out. Philip the owner is very friendly and helpful, he made a point of asking us if there was anything he could help us with when we checked in and was happy to supply maps and directions.

The only slight negative I have about this B&B is that they do charge 2% on payments by credit card, I felt this is slightly nickel and diming customers, the rooms aren’t exactly cheap at £70 per night. I know it’s only small amount, but I think most hotels these days waive this charge.

Other than that, we had a great stay in York, it is a beautiful city. We would both recommend the Ghost Walk! Very enjoyable! I would definitely recommend Ashley House to anyone looking for attractive accommodation with bags of character.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#10 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House

Property: Ashley House
Address: Off Scarcroft Road 76 Scott Street, York YO23 1NS, England (Formerly Ashley Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing