We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent B&B”
Review of Ashley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley House
Ranked #18 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived we got a warm and friendly welcome from Phil, he made us feel most welcome and very much at home throughout our stay. He greated us with a smile and the fresh smell of baking took my breathe away. The rooms are all tastefully kitted out very cozy and clean as was the lounge area, they also serve up a nice breakfast which is a right treat. Location wise, it's perfect for all attractions, walking distance into York which is a 10 minute walk. I can't recommend this gorgeous place highly enough and will be defo coming back to stay this year.

Gemma & Dec

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 369 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived we got a warm welcome and even an upgrade to a bigger room. The service was excellent clean rooms and cleaned daily. Very helpful on where everything was in york. We will definatley be returning next year. Such a lovely stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Phil is very nice and friendly and upgraded our room!!! Thank you Phil, we had a wonderful memory in York. We hope to visit it again.
The guesthouse is well designed and feels like home. Room is cozy and clean, and the space in the bathroom is big enough. The breakfast is fascinating, a lot of choices.
the location is good, in a quiet street, about 10 minutes walk to the castle museum, though a little far from the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ming G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here, and we had a great time. From the phone call the day before were due in York to check what time we would be arriving, to chatting to the owners when we left, the service we received was fantastic. The rooms are a good size, very tasteful and furnished with everything you need. Location is perfect for us, away from what can be a noisy town centre at times, but close enough to walk into town for food and shopping. Its about a 10 minutes slow walk into town, passing some very interesting shops, restaurants and pubs.

We both really enjoyed the breakfasts, good hearty food which set us up well for the rest of the day. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff. I'd heartily recommend Ashley Guest House to friends and family, and look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have returned from York. What a lovely guest house, we had one of the basement rooms and we thought it was really nice, the attention to detail was spot on. We had a very warm welcome from Zoe, followed by a equally warm welcome from Phil the following morning at breakfast. A stroll into York City is not far, probably 10 or 15 mins (not challenging) our son and his girlfriend had the attic room which they said was "small but perfectly formed" breakfast was of a great standard all cooked to order with a good choice and variety. This B&B is certainly a "little gem" as another reviewer has put it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blonde562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After hours of searching through hotels and B&Bs in York for a decent twin or family room for me and my mum, I was getting rather despondent! Luckily, I stumbled across Ashley House- so glad I did! Me and my mum had the two rooms in the basement of the house (No's 6 & 7), which have their own staircase down from the hall, and a lovely bathroom within room 6. Room 6 is a double and 7 is either a twin or a very large, decadent double - you can decide which when booking. The rooms are so much better than your standard family suite that I kept seeing advertised and suited us perfectly. Both are tastefully decorated. As our host, Phil was fabulous and couldn't do enough to help us. Wonderful breakfasts in a lovely room - I only wish I could have eaten more! The Guest House is also in a great location, just a 5 minute walk and you are in the city, plus there are lots of cafes and shops just around the corner. Would definitely return again and would highly recommend. Also excellent value as the quality of the rooms is excellent. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcyhels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We are regular vistors to Ashley Guest House. We love staying in this beautiful house where we are assured of a warm and friendly reception from Phil and his staff. The food is good with lots of delicious choices. The B & B is wonderfully placed to walk to parks and to York city centre only 10 minutes away. Trains & buses are within easy reach to take us to all the famous places. We look forward to our next visit and Christmas shopping again....... Great .- Eric & Susan.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House

Address: 76 Scott Street | Off Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NS, England (Formerly Ashley Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $92 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run bed and breakfast just a short walk into the city centre. We have 6 beautifully appointed bedrooms all with their unique style. We offer a wide range for breakfast from our famous 'Yorkie breakfast' to french toast. During your stay there are also free cakes and cookies:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing