We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley House
Ranked #13 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoorn, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A very nice B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This B&B was really very good. I was here with my husband for 2 days in september. Phil was very friendly. When we arrived our son just had a car accident in Holland. Phil gave us the WiFi code immediately, so we could call him. Everything was okay. The house was very lovely, just 10 minutes from the centre. The room was not so big, but it was okay. The breakfast was perfect

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjella_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    44
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
230
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Fab guest house, amazing food, amazing service, amazing decor! Great location - no where near a church as mentioned in a bad review left recently- they obviously stayed some where else!! I will return here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin4798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Ashley Guest House we were given the warmest welcome from owner Phil. He was extremely helpful, from ensuring we had the right parking permit to carrying our suitcase to our room. We stayed in Room 4, with the luxury free standing bath. The room was gorgeous, extremely clean and tidy. Enjoyed the lovely little touches left for us e.g. hand wash, bath lotion. There were even books and CD's for us to borrow during our stay. The bed was very comfortable.
When going out into York, Phil drew the quickest route onto a map for us to follow. We were literally a fifteen minute walk away from the centre of York.
The breakfasts were exceptional. A great choice of food made to order, served quickly, in a sweet little breakfast room, very enjoyable both mornings.
Can't recommend Ashley Guest House enough. If you are staying in York then stay here!

Room Tip: Room 4 was pure luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ashley Guest House has to be the best B&B I have stayed at. The owners were extremely friendly and the room was very clean, well decorated with a wonderful comfortable bed. The breakfasts were delicious and set you up for a day out in York. To complete the package it is only a 10-15 minute walk into town via a lovely park. I would highly recommend this to all and can't wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been staying at Ashley House since our daughter started at York uni 2 years ago. It was the first B&B we found in York and we so loved it we have not looked for anywhere else. It is convenient for the City Centre and for the University. Our daughter can join us for the best cooked breakfast especially the scrambled egg. Nothing is too much trouble for Phil - a great host. Rooms are lovely and well furnished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

From start to finish was the best experience of a B & B by far. The people were lovely! The breakfasts were delicious and really sets you up for the day. The cute little extras were lovely too, like the home made cakes and buns for all guests to help themselves to in the dining area. Highly recommend to everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina_duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My most recent stay in June 2013 was after a gap of around a year, Ashley House is still as good as always. Friendly helpful owners & staff, excellent location, away from the centre but close to shops and buses. The BnB itself is maintained to a high standard, and the breakfasts are legendary.

Since I've stayed - two comment books of praise have been filled by visitors from all over the world. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_b_trips27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#10 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House

Property: Ashley House
Address: Off Scarcroft Road 76 Scott Street, York YO23 1NS, England (Formerly Ashley Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ashley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing