We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashley House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ashley House
Ranked #16 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A welcoming home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from two nights at Ashley House. Phil,Emma and their staff could not have been more accommodating. Our room was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and had the most comfortable bed! The ensuite also was clean with a large powerful and hot shower and also had a window which is unique in b&b's. The breakfasts were gorgeous with a good menu to choose from. The lounge for residents was a lovely extra to have.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    44
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
230
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Myself and my partner recently had a 2 night stay at The Ashely Guest House in York. Life has been a little stressful recently and we decided we needed a relaxing break somewhere that neither of us had been before. I spent days trawling the internet for reviews and recommendations (it's difficult to know where to go when you have never visited an area before) and I finally found The Ashley Guest House which seemed a very good balance of quality and value for money so I took the plunge and booked.

We were not disappointed!! We were a little concerned about staying in a B&B as again, neither of us had much experience of this type of accommodation and I had already ruled out a few places as they had rather scary looking pictures of very keen owners who I thought might not give us the space we needed. When we arrived the owner was there to meet us and we had an informal but informative exchange where we were given a map of the city, told how to get in to town and shown to our room and given the keys. After that apart from breakfast and a chance meeting in the park we didn't really see them again until it was time to check out and pay the bill which was exactly what we had hoped for.

Our room was clean and beautifully decorated with a lovely bay window that let loads of light in. We had tea and coffee making facilities and some lovely shortbread biscuits. The room was en suite and the facilities were again very well presented and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was clean and crisp. The room was nicely furnished and I had plenty of room to do my hair and makeup before we went out.

Breakfast was served from 8.30 in the morning I think. The breakfast room was a cheerful sunny room at the front of the property and there were plenty of tasty options on offer. My partner is a Coeliac therefore required gluten free options. We took some of his bread with us as always but the owners were very happy to cook to accommodate his needs. I opted for the full cooked breakfast which was beautifully cooked and not greasy at all. There was bread on offer so you could make your own toast. Also fresh fruit, juice and cereal were available on self-service and you could request coffee and tea in many forms.

The B&B was situated near to the Rowntree park which was beautifully landscaped and shown off to it's best by the gleaming sunshine that showed it's face for the whole of our trip. The city centre was only 10-20 minutes’ walk away depending on how drunk you had gotten that night. One way to walk was along the river which was lovely and relaxing as you could watch the boats cruising up and down. The city itself is stunning with loads of beautiful architecture and history. We sat in the park near the Minster and ate gluten free cupcakes from the cupcakery around the corner which were beyond delicious. We did also have a walk along the city walls which are dotted with little bits of information regarding their construction and history. At night there were plenty of pubs and bars in which to sample cocktails and sit and have a chat overlooking the river of winding cobbled streets.

I had such a lovely time in York and I would definitely like to return as soon as possible. I wouldn’t consider saying anywhere other than the Ashley Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 days in October the weather was excellent. What can I say, Phil u always makes our stay perfect,. The breakfast is the best., sausage 2 die for. Will be back next month. Truely an home from home. Cheers Phil.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

have been a visitor to york many times and normally stay in large hotels. decided on ashley house more because of availability. my husband and i have found our new accommodation for all future visits. beautiful property with plenty of character and luxury. phil could not be more helpful and even phoned us on the way to direct us in through roadworks. breakfast the best i've had in a long time. well done to you all for making our stay the best yet. see you soon.

Room Tip: room 4 with the roll top bath is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Me and my family return to this wonderful B&B year after year and without fail always have a fantastic stay. Phil and his staff are most welcoming and not only provide luxury rooms and consistently delicious breakfasts, but a warm and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are always spotless with crisp clean bedding and towels and lovely en-suite bathroom facilities (having stayed in all of the uniquely decorated rooms, the one with the roll top bath in the bedroom has to be a favourite). The pricing of the rooms is extremely good value, and considering the lovely breakfast options (the full english being a must) and the free parking permit, you will struggle to find better accomodation in york. Situated just outside (a short stroll) of the huslte and bustle of the inner city centre, Ashley Guest house is located near to the beautiful rowntree park, providing a pleasant walk to the city centre via the river. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Having stayed in all of the rooms on offer at Ashley guest house, I can honestly say they are all eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seclereh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

For the past four years we have been going to this wonderfull B & B. Couldnt fault anything. relaxed atomosphere, beautiful rooms. Espically the one with the roll top bath. Its always clean and fresh. Breakfast in the morning couldnt be any better. I always order of the specials board but they have a sperate menu as well, everything is cooked to order so is always hot and fresh.
close to town, can come in and out when you feel like it. The host are wonderful alwasy frendily and love to help if you need anything. If going to york i would highly recommend this b & b when visiting york.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Super b&b wonderful hosts and lovely Clean and comfortable accommodation. Breakfast consistently top notch all cooked to order
We have stayed here for 6 years running niw and to us its the best in york and all in a wonderful location a stones throw from rowntree park, knarsmire and historic York I would strongly recommend this b&b

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pekaydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#10 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley House

Property: Ashley House
Address: Off Scarcroft Road 76 Scott Street, York YO23 1NS, England (Formerly Ashley Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ashley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing