We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Entertaining”

The Ghost Hunt of York
Ranked #13 of 59 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The award winning Ghost Hunt of York combines magic and energetic accounts of classic York ghost stories that will take your emotions from horror to hilarity.  The Victorian guide in his frock coat, top hat and carrying his Gladstone bag manifests at half past seven at the bottom of Shambles, ringing his death bell he gathers the awaiting ghost hunters...
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
spikeybb
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Entertaining”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

There are so many ghost walks to choose from but there was an advert for this on the shambles so we decided to do this one. He turned up at 7.30 sharp ringing his death bell. There was approximately 40 - 50 people on our tour but he's very loud and stands on a small step ladder so there is no problem hearing him. The tour was nothing like I expected. It was very theatrical and involved audience participation. I was expecting more ghost stories. The knife scene was a bit gruesome and Im sure some of the younger audience might find this disturbing, but overall, it was very entertaining. From beginning to end, it lasts approx 1hr 15 mins. Would certainly recommend if you are looking for an hour to kill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank spikeybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    138
    44
    26
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ghost Hunt of York”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If there is one thing you do in York, do The Ghost Hunt of York.
It is one hour of fun, thrills, laughs and Ghost Stories.
It is now the second time my wife and I have done this, and hopefully not the last!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great time with the fabulous Dan. The hourish went past so quickly we were so disappointed it was over! Great tricks with the knife on his wrist. Very amusing time. Could have been improved with more ghost tales but that would have had to increased the time of the tour to do this.
Feel like it would have been better in the winter as it was very light but obviously this can't be blamed on the tour company!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank peterandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good fun evening”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Might be a bit gruesome for some children but our 4 year old grandson enjoyed it - even the gruesome bloody wrist (once we'd explained that it was a trick!). Only lasted for 80 minutes and didn't go very far but a nice change to hear some of York's ghost stories in beautiful surroundings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank seasider2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Best ghost tour in york”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Alot of fun. We were guided on our tour by dan who is obviously a trained actor and can create a great atmosphere and project his voice well.

I would recommend this tour startling at the shambles over the other tours doing the rounds. It is much superior.

A must do whilst in York. Only gripe for me was that the was a little too much sillyness and not enough ghost stories to fully keep my interest. But still excellent !


Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EBUman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ghost Hunt of York also viewed

 

Been to The Ghost Hunt of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing