We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative!!”

The Ghost Hunt of York
Ranked #12 of 59 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The award winning Ghost Hunt of York combines magic and energetic accounts of classic York ghost stories that will take your emotions from horror to hilarity.  The Victorian guide in his frock coat, top hat and carrying his Gladstone bag manifests at half past seven at the bottom of Shambles, ringing his death bell he gathers the awaiting ghost hunters...
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Lancaster, UK
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very informative!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went on this ghost tour on a trip to York and found it very informative. The tour was about an hour long and took you through the back streets and The Shambles. The only thing I didn't like is that there are various tours taking places with different companies at the same time and you often bump into them on the rounds and you can hear different stories all at once.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jade2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    138
    44
    26
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Well worth the money.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We went in this ghost walk last weekend after looking at numerous others in York. The guide was super and always in character - granted it was very scary but he still kept everyone's attention for the while walk and was very funny. For £5 you can't go wrong.

Helpful?
Thank Sausagethebestcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have wanted to do a ghost walk in York for years. Finally booked a weekend in York straight after New Year so I could drag my husband round a ghost walk. Did research from the reviews on trip advisor and decided I wanted entertaining and I wasn't disappointed. There were some good tales, much humour as well as tension. Dan took us round York and both myself and husband had a really good hour. Definitely worth the £5.00. (Visit the web site for £1 off vouchers, even better value for money). Thank you Dan

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rats_snod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Comedy rather than Fear”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This isn't what we were expecting. We were expecting a traditional ghost hunt through the streets, telling ghost stories and getting scared.

But, this is funny. Hilarious in parts. The guide makes this an experience you'll remember. His manner and voice is excellent.

This is good for all the family, we took an 8 year on this tour. Some jokes went over her head, but for the main part it is family friendly and great fun. Different, but strongly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not scary at all!!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Chose this tour based on excellent reviews and was very disappointed! It is great for children and has a few good theatrical moments but is poor as a scary 'ghost' tour and tells you little about the history of York- yes it's entertaining but not at all what we expected and what it is built up to be.

Helpful?
Thank nomadannie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ghost Hunt of York also viewed

 

Been to The Ghost Hunt of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing