We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and helpful host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbingdon Guest House
Ranked #96 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location and helpful host”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a small guest house just outside of the city centre. The host was very welcoming and helpful. Rooms looked a little dated but was comfortable. Breakfast was reasonable and used good quality ingredients. Shower cubicle would have benefitted from a spray of bleach to kill the mold but otherwise seemed clean. For a short stay the Abbingdon was more than adequate. At the end of the day it provided reasonable accommodation at a reasonable price. Note very close to football ground and while a parking permit is available on request spaces are limited.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBlobby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    31
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
31
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed here yet again, four years in a row while attending York Races. Again this B&B was very clean, the owners very welcoming and very helpful people. The full English breakfasts are very nice and set you up for the day, but you also have as much cereals, yoghurts and toast that you want. We will definitely be back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AimNKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. The best thing was finding I'd been given an ensuite room despite having booked a shared bathroom which was a lovely surprise! The owners were both lovely people, very helpful and did a great full English breakfast, and it was nice to have a selection of cereals and yoghurt as an alternative. I was also great to have access to a fridge which helped a lot when buying food from the supermarket. The room and bathroom were very clean. Only a 20 min walk from the rail station and 15 to the Minster so a good location. The only downside was their cat not being terribly sociable contrary to reviews I'd read when researching accommodation. I'd definitely recommend Abbingdon to others.

Room Tip: Room 1 for a single room with en suite, and minimal stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed here last weekend. Everything was perfect. Tony and Allison made us feel right at home, we had an early start one day and they were able to accomodate us with an early breakfast. I would recommend this guest house to anybody staying in York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkman417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggeshall, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse for two nights whilst visiting the university with my nephew and his girlfriend. Spotlessly clean, great showers and friendly staff. I also got a good cooked breakfast, which, as a vegetarian, is for reasons unknown to me, a rarity. Would definiltely recommend and will definitely use again.

Room Tip: The single room has an ensuite and is excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while at York Races. Lovely little guest house with very friendly owners. Excellent cooked breakfast with plenty of friendly chat. We will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Briatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a lovely find. Was saved by the Abbingdon when was very rudely let down by Four Poster lodge. Great price, great service and lovely owners. Room was a good size, ( I had a twin as the singles were full, but was charged the single rate) lots of hot water, tea and coffee facilities. Free parking for guests right outside the door. Stayed two nights.

Full English breakfast was a treat too. Only a short walk to the center. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
1.0 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,877 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.0 mi away
Beckett Guest House
Beckett Guest House
#161 of 192 in York
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbingdon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbingdon Guest House

Property: Abbingdon Guest House
Address: 60 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbingdon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house situated just a short walk from York Minster. A warm welcome is guaranteed and with a choice of single, twin, double or triple rooms, we cater for everyone. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our establishment and our quality of service. All rooms are en-suite and have a TV/DVD player and tea & coffee facilities as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbingdon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing