We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbingdon Guest House
Ranked #94 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I have just spent the weekend here and it was by far one of the best b and b's i've ever stayed in, it was lovely and clean, in a great location to walk into the city centre and the breakfasts were perfect.
The owners were really friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend it and would stay here again if I was to visit York again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    31
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
31
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having read some very creditable reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to book a three night stay at Tony and Alison's Abbingdon Guest House over the New Year weekend and we were not disappointed.
Location was spot on with a nice walk into the city centre.
Our room was very clean and the en suite bathroom was generally good with a powerful shower albeit there was a certain amount of understandable mould in the shower cubicle and ceiling owing to there not being a window.
Although a relatively quiet room on the second floor and to the rear we did experience some loud voices through the walls from presumably the B&B next door plus cooking smells were present which we were unsure of source.
Nice touch with tea,coffee and biscuits in the room plus cold bag with purchasable snacks inside.
Breakfast was particularly lovely,good selection of cereal,choice of juice,fresh filtered coffee and an excellent cooked breakfast including plenty of toast to finish off.
Tony and Alison are a lovely couple who make you feel very welcome.
Would we stay again...yes most certainly,all in all a very good valued B&B.Well done.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarlingtonStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Had a lovely stay last night. Booked a family room at short notice and our needs were fully accommodated for. Great breakfast and a lovely friendly couple. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed here Fri 18 Nov with my sister for our annual xmas shopping trip (3rd time in York) and will definitely be back next year if they have room. Quiet location and lovely room with everything you need - the cuddly toy pigs on the beds made us smile as did Tony when we received a warm welcome at breakfast. Everything you need from a city B&B, great value and comfy beds! Something I've never seen in a B&B before was the "emergency pack" of goodies should you get the munchies after a few drinks or just feeling a bit peckish! A handy selection of crisps, sweets, chocolate and bottled water in a cool bag and not extortionate hotel prices either! Needless to say we didn't need anything as we'd been for a lovely meal at Piccolinos and were stuffed to bursting! Thanks for a lovely welcoming stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PurpleAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

What a wonderful city is York! Abbingdon, what a great place to stay located in a safe and quiet neighborhood. The other reviews state most everything we could say about the Abbingdon and our hosts, Tony and Alison. Very comfortable room and quiet, plenty of hot water, filling English brkfst, corner grocery a short walk away, the Minster and other city attractions an easy walk away. Tony gave us excellent information and gave us the directions to the laundrette we desparately needed , called for a taxi when we needed to leave. We'd go back in a heartbeat. Thanks, Toni and Alion.

Room Tip: Just give Toni and Alison your preferences eg away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have spent a lovely weekend in this warm guest house. Owners made me feel at home, room very clean with tea- coffee making facilities and a comfy bed. Breakfast rich and good. Excellent quality/ price ! Just 10 mins of a nice walk from the major attractions so it's very quite but not too far.
I'll be back!!!! Thanks a lot Tony and Allison.
Laura

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelergosum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and I have just got back from a fantastic weekend staying at the Abbingdon. The owners were very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. The room was lovely and cosy with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful. The guest house is about 10 minutes walk from the city wall where you are straight into the medieval city. We would definitely go back and would certainly recommend the Abbingdon without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkleytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#105 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beckett Guest House
Beckett Guest House
#151 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
York Lodge
York Lodge
#174 of 192 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbingdon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbingdon Guest House

Property: Abbingdon Guest House
Address: 60 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbingdon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house situated just a short walk from York Minster. A warm welcome is guaranteed and with a choice of single, twin, double or triple rooms, we cater for everyone. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our establishment and our quality of service. All rooms are en-suite and have a TV/DVD player and tea & coffee facilities as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbingdon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing