We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in the heart of York”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gemma B
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay in the heart of York”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a wonderful time in a clean, warm house with lots of amenities. Location couldn't be better.

Thank you Lynne for making our stay so comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
That's great to hear! Thank you for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review. And I was delighted to hear that the chair beds are comfy. Although they are full size, when we bought them we guessed they would be used by children but several adult guests have used them so it's nice to know they are fine. We'd love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
laurajwil...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderdul stay”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a gorgeous apartment . Myself and 2 of my friends were touring with thoroughly modern Millie at the grand opera house and found this gem of an apartment . Lynne couldn't of been any more helpful . The apartment was spotless . Plenty of lovely fluffy towels and linen . And extras like milk bread and prossecco for us which was just lovely . The address is soooo central and just perfect for a york stay . You are smack bang in the middle of it but tucked away from any noise and on a superb street with lovely restaurants . All in all we will deffinetly be returning as soon as possible . It made our working week here just wonderful . Thankyou Lynne

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
Gosh! That's a really lovely review - thank you so much. I hope you come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2017
Your review made me laugh out loud! Cheeky! I am so glad you both enjoyed the stay and we'd love to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah M
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect city apartment with the warmest of welcomes.”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot fault the apartment or the hospitality in any way. I stayed for 9 nights with my husband and two small children in February and the apartment was perfect for what we needed. Large enough to accommodate us, superb city location, brilliantly clean, safe for children and warm when it was very cold in York. The owners communication in advance was excellent and her hospitality outstanding (even leaving me a birthday card and gift!). I would definitely recommend this apartment to everyone and certainly stay there again on my next trip to York.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We would love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2015

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Our location is terrific and I am so pleased you liked the decor. We'd love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
deniseban...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from an amazing stay at Gillygate, a central York apartment whereby you literally walk out of the door and you're in the middle of the town. I hasten to add there is no noise inside the apartment, which is decorated and furnished to an extremely high standard. Everything is spotlessly clean from the beds down to each and every item of homeware in the kitchen. This is not your run of the mill rental everything is of a very high standard. Lynne and Mick the owners are so helpful and gave us good advice where to visit. I would strongly recommend this apartment to anyone!!!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2016
Thank for you a fabulous review! It was a total pleasure to be able to welcome you to Gillygate Central and hear how much you enjoyed the apartment and York. We really hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing