We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad and handle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
christmas...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We celebrated our anniversary recently with a week-end in York, staying at this apartment. We will be returning, as it is excellent. The apartment has all you need and more for a short or longer break, and is perfectly situated for both sight seeing and shopping in the City Centre. And after all that's done, you have yards to walk to many pubs, bars or restaurants.
Well worth a visit, good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Sky Sports
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2015
That's great! It's really nice when guests have a special date to celebrate in Gillygate Central. Thank you for your review and we certainly hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul d
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have recently returned from a weekend at this apartment, and can only say to any potential future letters " you will not be disappointed". The apartment, has everything and more, is very comfortable and homely. It is situated close to the City Centre, within yards of many Bars, Restaurants and the main shopping areas. The owners are also very approachable giving their insight into places to visit and dine ect. as they live close to the apartment. Well worth another visit, and we will be doing it ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Sky Sports
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2015
Thank you for such a really nice review. We would be absolutely delighted to see you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikkihorn...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed at Gillygate central for a long weekend. On the first night we went to a lovely Italian, less than 5 minutes away. I suffer with chronic back pain, so location is everthing to me. It is only a 5 minute walk to the walls and Minster. The apartment was beautiful, and well equipped. Some people may be put off by it being underground, but not us. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
Thank you for the review and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. I have to say that I was surprised you think the apartment is 'underground'! It is actually lower ground with natural light/windows in all rooms but I quite like the idea of it being a cave! We would love to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie V
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation and location”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It doesn't get any better than to stay in this lovely appartment. Extremely central and in easy walking distance to everything. I recommend it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wine and bread!!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
How lovely of you to say that! We never got to meet so it's always a lovely surprise to hear such positive comments written in a review when I have not known how the guests have liked the apartment. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O
1 review
“A very attractive apartment, clean and efficient, providing a delightful base in the centre of York.”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our hostess Lynne was most helpful and welcoming, generously providing the food wherewithal to get us started - especially the prosecco! We much enjoyed our stay and
found it easy to explore York from this vantage point even with a few mobility problems.
Every want suppled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience
Liked least: Seating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed York and Gillygate Central.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthAuss...
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The phrase "leave the best til last" certainly sums up our four weeks of touring Ireland, Scotland and England. Gillygate Central was our last accommodation and it made everything else pale to insignificance. Nothing was forgotten. Everything was top class. The little touches - heated towel rail that actually worked, enormous towels, beautiful shower and space. We had plenty of space to spread out, even though we were only two. We could walk everywhere being so close to town and the garage to house our car was yet another plus. This accommodation scores fifteen out of ten.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. I always worry that when guests are at the end of an epic journey like yours, there's a chance they will just want to get home. Your enthusiasm and pleasure in both York and Gillygate Central is fantastic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelSAE...
1 review
“Lovely apartment, awesome location!”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Gillygate Central is a lovely clean and modern apartment. Its location is excellent - in easy walking distance of everything in central York. The owner Lynne was helpful and responsive. Our family of four (yes, we fitted) thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2015
Thank you very much for the review. I was particularly pleased as I was not in York during your stay so did not get to meet you and check on the spot that everything was fine. Really glad you enjoyed the apartment and our lovely city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing