We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, lovely flat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gillygate Central

Key pad closed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating. Real wooden floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Key pad closed
Wall mounted fire in addition to full central heating.
Real wooden floor.
Separate, private entrance.
Sleek, modern shower room.
Fully fitted kitchen diner.
No washing up with an integrated dishwasher.
Super-king bed.  TV with DVD.
Can be twin beds on request.
Easy to operate chair-beds allow the apartment to accommodate 4.
Dining table can be extended to accommodate 4.
Eat in or eat out - you will be in the centre of a vibrant city with every option.
A complimentary bottle of prosecco will be waiting in the fridge for you.
The time will fly in this beautiful city and luxurious apartment.
Keypad closed
Opening keypad
Keys revealed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cjiggins2...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, lovely flat”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Gillygate. Its very central and handy for lots of the great things to do in York - Jorvik, Castle etc etc. The flat is nice and clean, well fitted out and fine for our family of four (a bit cosy!). Had a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
Thanks for taking time to do a review. Yes, for four people it is cosy but you seemed to have a great stay which is what we hope for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry Q
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Location, Excellent Hosts”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The flat is lovely and has a great location in the middle of historic York.
The flat has great facilities and a massive clock!
Lynne and Mike are fantastic hosts and were on hand to give helpful advice and top tips for must sees in York.
I will definitely be visiting again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
Ha ha! Yes the clock is huge but fits on the wall well we think. Thanks for your review - you would be welcome back any time you are in York.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. You will be back? Delighted!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma R
Langwith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a superb newly renovated apartment with quality fixtures and fittings. It is very comfortably furnished, very clean, well lit and, with it being a basement apartment, it is refreshingly cool for hot days. I think it will be nice and toasty in winter months too.
We were very grateful for the bread, milk and butter on our arrival....not forgetting the nice bottle of wine too! THANK YOU
The central location is ideal for walking the wall and seeing tourist attractions such as York Minster, Yorvik Viking Centre and the Chocolate Story as well as being close to many pubs, cafes and restaurants.
We loved our stay and will definitely be rebooking when we revisit York.
Thank you again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern & clean
Liked least: Not much leg room on the loo for very tall people
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and I am delighted you liked the place such a lot. You called it basement - we call it lower ground - but we are not going to fall out about that!! You would be very welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombe45
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
“Excellent, modern and clean accommodation”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lynne, the owner of the property located on the lower level of a Victorian house was there to meet and greet us when we arrived. Lynne made sure we knew where everything was in the apartment. The apartment is modern, well furnished and sparkling. She welcomed us with a bottle of bubbly which was great after our long journey. The apartment is located in an ideal location close to the main train station, Museum gardens, the York Minster, beautiful shops and traditional English pubs. Everything you need in town is a short walk away.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2014
I don't manage to meet all our guests but I do leave a bottle of fizz for everyone! You seemed to have a great time in York which is what we want. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGarbutt
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic apartment, absolutely faultless”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great stay in this recently renovated, spacious apartment. With a full-size kitchen and nearby supermarket it's nice to have the option of dining in after a busy day sightseeing in York. There are two brand new TVs, decent strength free wi-fi and a state-of-the-art bathroom. All the comforts of home and more! The separate bedroom at the rear of the property was very quiet and you won't find a more comfortable bed.
Gillygate is very central to all the attractions, restaurants and nightlife York has to offer. Everything, including the station is within walking distance. You really don't need a car to explore the city from here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Thanks for your enthusiastic response. We really tried to "get it right" and comments like yours, from great guests, make it all worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSB59
Manila, Philippines
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment with perfect host”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were smitten the minute we entered the apartment. It is tastefully designed and cozy, with all the amenities needed. The location is perfect. Just a few minutes walk from the center of attractions.

Lynne is a warm and gracious host. She makes sure her guests enjoy their stay in York. In fact, she welcomed us with a bottle of sparkling rose, bread, butter, milk, coffee and tea. What a thoughtful gesture! Then, in her apartment folder she gives detailed recommendations for places to visit and to eat. And she is spot on with her recommendations.

I will definitely be recommending York and Lynne's apartment to family and friends.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
It was a total pleasure to meet you and your family and I was delighted to be able to contribute a little to your holiday. Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing