We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2 Precentor's Court, York Minster”
other travelers have booked this property
No. 2 Precentor's Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No. 2 Precentor's Court
No. 2 Precentor's Court Five Star Gold
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
No. 2 Precentor's Court
No. 2 Precentor's Court
Five Star Gold
300 year old listed building
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen clock
Kitchen/diner
Pantry
Betty's fruit cake
Lectern with 'The Knowledge'
Minster Services
The 'Knowledge'
View to courtyard garden
Hallway leading to courtyard
Courtyard garden
Lounge
Lounge
Hallway
Stairs to first floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Fireplace bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Trumpet chandalier, 1 of 2
High quaility towels and linen
House bathroom
House bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Stairs to second floor
Staircase from top landing
Top landing with vew to bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Shower wetroom
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4
Precentor's Court c. 1900
West Door, York Minster
York Minster
Boxing Hare Ltd.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
137liz
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 Precentor's Court, York Minster”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

2 Precentor's Court is an amazing house. Beautifully fitted out with everything provided for a luxury stay.

Immaculately clean too. Thanks for a wonderful break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for the review - delighted you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geordiema...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Made a fantastic Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my family at this house celebrating 2 Birthdays, but an important age one for a Daughter. FABULOUS house, few steps from the historic Minster, immaculate and full of everything a family needs, including books/games and even amusements for our 4 year old Grandson. Thoughtfully found cake/shortbread and a bottle left as a welcoming gift.Can only confirm my family had the best 4 days in York, and really do recommend this house to everyone who wishes to stay in York and want something that lets them choose their own agenda but is definitely unique. The Wi-fi was excellent at all times as well, an added bonus.
Minster bells stopped ringing at 8pm, but Tuesday must have been practice day as it continued for longer, and a good alarm clock for 8am next morning.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful listed house, full of all essentials and brilliant locatin in city
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james s
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxury & elegance in the heart of York - I want to catch the bus back now”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautiful historic house, just a stone's throw from York Minster. The perfect spot for exploring one of England's finest cities. Rooms are big, clean and immaculately furnished, complete with all mod cons. Everything you could possibly need is provided - from free wifi to a free parking space just a short walk away. There was even cake & biscuits from Bettys and prosecco as a welcome gift - nice! A great place to stay, would definitely recommend. Driving home, my 3-year-old nephew told his parents: "I want to catch the bus back now"!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1950Janet
Leawood, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living in York”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We felt like we were part of the York community. We were near everywhere we wanted to visit in York. The house is very quiet even though it is a few steps around the corner to the Minster. We used the house as a base to travel to the Yorkshire Dales, Moors and many National Trust properties. We were on a Richard III history excursion. Visited his tomb in Leicester, the Richard III experience in York, Middleham CAstle and found his pictures in other historic sites. The owners were very quick to answer any questions we had.
I would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As a group we were able to spend time cooking and relaxing together after our long day out excursions.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful throughout ”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A truly lovely house throughout. Very well equipped and boasts some incredibly comfy beds!! Great attention to detail and feels very homely. The bells from York Minster also make for a cracking alarm clock!

Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2015
Dear Rob,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for the review. Hopefully we will see you again.
Happy Christmas, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy O
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Spectacular House!”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I arranged to stay at 2 Precentor's Court with a number of friends in October. The house was excellent. It was beautifully decorated throughout, it has all of the facilities we could have needed, and more, and everything throughout the house was of such a high standard. The owner was very helpful and friendly during the booking process and when also preparing for our arrival. I would highly recommend a stay in this house and I will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you very much for the review Lucy - I look forward to seeing you again on your return. Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l2teacher
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is hard to imagine a better place to stay to explore York. We were a multi-generational family group and renting house made it possible for us to gather together and share family time as well as to tour York and the surrounding area. We couldn't have been happier with our stay in this lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing