We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend this great find!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pear Tree Cottage

Front garden in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front garden in summer
Lounge Rear View of Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Front garden in summer
Lounge
Rear View of Lounge
Kitchen dining
Dining area
Kitchen
Walk in ground floor shower room
Master Bedroom
Twin bed room
New first floor bathroom
New first floor bathroom
Quiet walks from Pear Tree Cottage
View across fields
Summer flowers
Front Drive
Back Garden
Sunrise at Pear Tree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ann M
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend this great find!”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely cottage on the outskirts of York. The cottage itself was spacious and clean. Susan is so hospitable and nothing a bother. A lot of thought put into our stay. A wee food package when we arrived. Umbrellas came in very handy one day. Lovely garden with apples and pears growing on the trees.
Shopping centres close by, bus route at the bottom of the lane and park and ride service which was brilliant.
Piglet Farm close by was a great hit with the children. Also recommend the Ship Inn for a lovely traditional tea. We had a great week and will be recommending this cottage to our friends.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2017
So pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pear Tree Cottage”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This cottage is in a lovely private location. Close to York but still has a countryside feel. We had all the comforts we could possibly wish for, all rooms are well kept with plenty of space for all. We arrived to a lovely package of Betty's Tea, fruit cake and 6 fresh eggs (delicious) and a warm welcome from the hens, who were possibly looking for some scraps!! The only thing that could be improved (but isn't really a major issue) the wifi signal wasn't great in the living room, where we spent our evenings so a booster would be good for that room.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely home, perfect location!”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We booked Pear Tree Cottage for a belated birthday weekend break for my mum. The cottage was perfect, with everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. 3 good sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen.
The house is ideally positioned for enjoying the York area, with Park and Ride into York only 5 minutes away, 15 minutes to York outlets, 40 minute drive to Leeds and 20 minutes to Castle Howard.
I will definitely return to Pear Tree Cottage for future trips to York, and will be recommending this house to friends.
Thank you Suzanne.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
1 review
“Lovely cottage ,great location”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage ,very friendly and helpful hosts.great location for visiting different places in Yorkshire.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justine R
1 review
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent the weekend her as we were attending a wedding in york. The cottage is amazing and exceeded our expectations in every way. The cottage is very well equipped and immaculately clean. It is has pleanty of toys and games to keep kids entertained and also a very secure garden, with friendly chickens! Our stay here was very pleasureable and we would defiantly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didee51
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pear tree cottage Earswick”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely cottage in excellent location.Spacious,well equipped, bathroom a dream
Owners on site are friendly & helpful, thanks for a great break!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annacs85
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just come back from our week long stay at pear tree cottage, and we loved every minute! We travelled with a 5 year old and a baby. There was toys, games and everything you needed to have a comfortable stay. A cot, high chair and a nappy changing area was organised for us. A lovely little garden for the kids to run about in. Only a 10 minute walk to the bus stop. Absolutely recommend this place to others, and will definitely come and stay here again!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing