We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Visit”
Review of Fourposter Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fourposter Lodge
Ranked #100 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St.John's
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited our son attending The University of York and looked for location close by. As the Fourposter Lodge was only 10 minute walk to residence and based location, having read other reviews and viewing pictures of the rooms on the website, we booked 4 nights. Upon arrival we immediately liked the look of the outside, quaint, well groomed and welcoming. Once inside, we felt the same way. The waiting area and dining room with its stained glass, pictures, wall sconces, colorful decor, cleanliness and staircase was welcoming and we were greeted by Gary and our room was all ready. We were pleasantly surprised by our spacious, bright and flowery room and of course the fourposter bed. It immediately reminded me of years ago visiting my Grandmothers house. One thing I will mention is that we also wanted toilet and shower facilities in our room and because we were later booking we did not have selection of rooms for the 4 nights. In room 3 we did have our own facilities that were perfect for us, however if you are a larger person or do not like small spaces, the shower in this room is very small. My husband is 220lb man and he could just get in the shower doors. We would book earlier next time and inquire about shower size in other rooms. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast every morning and Gary and his staff were very accommodating and made us feel right at home. The location is 15-20 minute walk to The Shambles and town centre which we also liked because we enjoyed the walk every day. We truly enjoyed our stay at The Fourposter Lodge. It was spotlessly clean, good location for us, comfortable bed, lots of hot water, friendly and welcoming and we would definitely recommend this B&B and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
62
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, very clean and tidy. First time to York and went via tripadviser to book a b&b for the 4 of us. If we ever go back to York we would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was fab. We loved the decor it goes went with the fourposter bed in room 9 and the house. Thanks for a fab weekend and the weather was wonderful to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbe1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night on the 12th of January 2013, Gary & his daughter were very helpful & the breakfast was also very good, the room was clean & warm. After reading some of the other reviews we were a little concerned about our stay, we needn't have been it was overall a pleasant stay & I would definitely stay there again if we are ever in York.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was good for a short stay but if I was staying longer I would prefer a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PHedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here four two nights in January for a quick weekend break. We found our room to be very comfortable, and having a warm room, especially at this time of year was a really welcome find. The room was larger than we thought, the bed comfortable, the decor cosy, and the room clean and tidy.
Breakfast was served quickly, politely, and was cooked to perfection, which set us up for a days exploring the city perfectly. Overall, we would be more than happy to stay here again, and will recommend this hotel to our friends.

Thank you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
455 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived in York without accommodation and had this place booked through the tourist centre. Whilst the hotel was a little outdated, Gary, the owner I presumed, was very friendly and helpful. He provided us with parking around the back as front street parking was not available.
Our room and its amenities were comfortable and whilst it was not a large room, the three of us managed without difficulty.
Breakfasts were enjoyable and all the staff we met were polite and attentive. Gary also recommended a pub to have dinner at, and we were more than happy with the food ordered there.
Additionally, we were able to walk to the walled city of York in about fifteen minutes.
Overall, this was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The room we had was very functional, clean and warm with very busy decor. Reminded me a bit of the sixties with the wallpaper but no disrespect as decor is a matter of choice. I feel sorry for whoever has to clean all the lace aroud the bed. Having a warm room was a big plus as the weather had turned very cold over the weekend. The shower was very tiny, and if a larger person tried to get in I think they would have a bit of trouble but as were are short it wasn't too bad apart from the water not being so hot, maybe it was us not working it properly ! I daresay if we asked we would have been told how. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were able to park at the back in the parking bays directed by the owner. No problem there. He also told us a quick way into town which was helpful. I wasn't too keen on the breakfast, but again a matter of taste. To conclude we found this property a little bit too far out of town for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

To be fair, when we received our booking confirmation we were advised to look at the website for room information. Unfortunately the photos couldn't give any indication of the actual room size, which was very small. (We booked rooms 1 and 2) Our bedroom had been adapted to include a small shower and a cupboard - like loo. There was one armchair so there was no choice other than to lie on the bed when not out and about. The radiator didn't work for the first two nights and the shower only provided warm water - no chance of scalding here! The mattress was very thin and the springs bulged through the covering so we didn't sleep at all well. The floorboards on one side of the bed were very bouncy and gave the inmpression they might go through! There was a problem with the electrics while we were there which led to a couple of blackouts. The next room (3) was open and being cleaned one day so we had a look in there and that seemed far more comfortable.

One of the owners answered the door when we got there but we didn't see anyone other than the waiting staff until we checked out so they might consider getting to know their customers a bit better. The staff doing breakfast were lovely and the breakfasts were more than acceptable. If we go back we definitely would choose a bigger room!

Room Tip: Check out the website descriptions carefully. 1 and 2 VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazyB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#32 of 192 in York
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#75 of 192 in York
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hollies Guest House
Hollies Guest House
#93 of 192 in York
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#82 of 192 in York
14 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourposter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourposter Lodge

Property: Fourposter Lodge
Address: 68-70 Heslington Road, York YO10 5AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fourposter Lodge - we are a small family run accommodation provider. Situated only 10 minutes walk to York's beautiful historic city centre and also 10 minutes to York University. All rooms offer four poster beds at a price you can afford. We look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fourposter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing