We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monkgate Guest House
Ranked #74 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I Work in York and stay at this Guest House a couple of times a week, it is always very clean and tidy the rooms are very cosy and warm, william and Jane are fantastic and nothing is to much trouble, they go out of there way to make sure that your stay here is the best, very near the town and all the restaurants,i would recomend the Monkgate to anyone and Guarantee a very relaxing stay.
The Breakfast is the best i have had in any hotel. i look forward to spending a lot more nights here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Monkgate Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

My daughter and I stayed for three nights and the owners William and Jane made us feel so at home. The rooms were spotless and the bathroom was exceptionally clean. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the location is excellent. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed in the family room for three nights and it was a delight. The children had their own single beds seperated from us with a door, which gave us (and them) some respite!! Both rooms were very clean and very comfortably decorated. The children were very taken with all the teddy bears. Breakfast was delicious and served promptly. The location was great as it was close enough for us to walk into the centre ( 10 minutes even with a toddler dragging her feet!) but just outside the walls so as to be peaceful and quiet. All in all a very comfortable stay. Thank you to our lovely hosts, Jane and William. We WILL be back. See you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shereen_smilewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Our stay in York was very nice, but it was made even nicer by our stay at the monkgate guest house. Jane and William were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, help with getting around York, showing us where to visit etc.
The room was very pleasant, beds were really comfortable and all was very clean.
Location was very close to city centre which was nice.
Although we never came by car, the only thing if we did would have been the parking, but all in all the stay was BRILLIANT!!
Thank you, Jane and William.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bopsiwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

the rooms we stayed in needed decorating, a good hoovering and dusting , especially the dusty teddy bears. The damp problem in the bathroom needs treating rather than just painting over . We found a live earwig in one of the beds and a slug in the bathroom the second night . The only good thing about the guest house was the breakfast and the location . We would not stay again .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank thomas186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

excellent location to visit York town centre. Quite basic accomodation and average breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathystirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Thanks to William and Jane, my friend and I had a lovely stay at the guest house. The rooms are spotless and tastefully furnished. The breakfasts are very filling and very fresh. I have had mushrooms at breakfast before but these are so scrumptious! The service was excellent and always with a smile. These two people should be very proud of their home and we felt very at ease during our stay. I really would say to guests searching for accomodation that you will be made exceptionally welcome. I know we were, and not forgetting Buster and Hazel! A sincere thank you to all four of you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selenafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#44 of 194 in York
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#52 of 194 in York
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkgate Guest House

Address: 65 Monkgate, York YO31 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $76 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkgate Guest House is 200 years old and is only five minutes walk from York Minster and the city centre where you will find beautiful shops and restaurants and all York's attractions close to hand. The property was originally three Georgian cottages so it is cosy and rambling with the quaint features you would expect from an older property. We have two rooms on the ground floor and the other rooms are on the first floor accessed by a flight of stairs. Our breakfast room is warm and inviting and we provide a full, freshly cooked English breakfast with eggs cooked to your requirements alongside the other menu options. We have limited off street parking in a narrow driveway at the side of the house, you will be able to forget your car then and walk to all the amenities! We can however try to arrange more parking if necessary. Free wifi is available in the public rooms and most bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monkgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkgate Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing