We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a yorkshire welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkgate Guest House
Ranked #70 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a yorkshire welcome”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

given the positive reviews on here I was really quite surprised by this B&B. When I arrived felt like I was really putting them out checking in. I was even more surprised to find that the room did not have ensuite facilities but that they were down the corridor. On the first mroning the latch went and locked me out of the toilet/shower so I had to use one in an empty room. They cooked my breakfast anyway while I was getting ready as that was more convenient for them.

The breakfasst was a real 'yorkshire' offering - if the cliche about yorkshire people being careful with money. You could have fruit juice or cereal but not both? By this time I was wishing York had more Premier Inns.

On the plus side it is well located for the centre of York, which is a beautiful city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSmithbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane307, Owner at Monkgate Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mr Smith, I am so sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Monkgate Guest House. We were not at the property that weekend but know our relief staff would have done all they could to make your stay a pleasant one. I will look into you comments and contact you direct. I would just like to say however for anyone else looking to book a room with us that a private bathroom is not en-suite but it is for your use only. This does seem to cause some confusion. We have 2 of these rooms, the rest are en-suite but we do mention it on our website.
Kind regards, Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    38
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
56
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the family room, which was great with two separate bed rooms - a double and a twin. Also included ensuite. Room had charm but was practical and close to city walls. My daughter loved the teddy bears and the decor in the twin room, she also watched two DVDs from the selection provided. The room also contained a small walk in robe which was great to keep suitcases out of way but... if you had a baby you could also put travel cot in there. Breakfast was great and plentiful! There was tea and coffee facilities but only down side (and its a small one) there is no fridge. I would return and would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank minkyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in May last year. I loved the character of the place, despite the teddy bears! The owners were so welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. I had the full English breakfast every day just because I couldn't get enough of it.

My room was a single en-suite. Since it was just me, it was a good size room with a nice wardrobe and the bathroom was clean and tidy.

The parking situation is odd, I have to admit. However, once we got there, we walked everywhere so we didn't have to worry about getting the car out until we left. The owners did all the parking for us.

It's not your typical cookie-cutter hotel so if that's what you want, you're better off staying with Holiday Inn or Best Western. If you want something that's more reminiscent of home with warm, inviting rooms and friendly staff, I highly recommend the Monkgate Guest House!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good location and very family orientated. We have just come back from a 2 night stay with our 3 year old. The family room was a great size for us, lovely big bathroom with Lots of hotwater and lovely smellies. Plenty of fluffy towels too. The family room we booked had a good sized bath (room 5) is on the back of the building so can feel chilly, but there was an electric fire, extra blankets and even hot water bottles...but even in May, coming back to a warm cosy bedroom was bliss. Breakfasts were cooked freshly to order and were delicious and filling.
The family room had teddy bears to help our little one feel at home, and she certainly enjoyed cuddling into her new friends in her cosy and comfy bed. Overall the hotel and bedroom was clean and comfortable, no traffic noise to impede a good nights sleep, but the springs in the double bed were a little noisey when hubby turned in bed. Jane and William were both very friendly and their hospitality was warm and friendly. Definitely recommended for any families ....we had a fabulous stay and would definitely return on our next visit to beautiful York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunderlandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed with my boyfirend for a weekend break and we were warmly welcomed on arrival and informed of the local attractions in a really helpful manor. The guesthouse is perfectly located around a 5-10 minute walk from all the places you want to get to in York's centre. There is no double glazing, however, so ear plugs are a must for light sleepers! The cooked breakfast was delicious with good quality sausages and bacon being used. My only dissapointment was that the room was very small for the price we paid and the shower was external to the room itself. The owner's were both very pleasant though and made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felicityhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a really nice B&B. We were warmly welcomed by William who even offered to park our car! and shown to our room (#5). This is a recently decorated room which was larger than we expected with a double and single bed and full separate bathroom, both of which were really clean. Breakfasts were great and filling and top ups offered. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks for a lovely break Jane & William.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was a lovely stay here, we were only here 1 night but had a nice clean room at the back of the guest house. The owner was very friendly and helpful, he told us about things to see in York and how to get around. The full english breakfast was nice and filling.

The only negative was that the shower was at best luke warm, bit too cold for our liking in the winter!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane307, Owner at Monkgate Guest House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated.
We are just sad you had to suffer a tepid shower but thank you for drawing our attention to the problem.

We look forward to seeing you again one day!
Best wishes Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#42 of 192 in York
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#129 of 192 in York
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#45 of 192 in York
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#43 of 192 in York
320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#78 of 192 in York
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkgate Guest House

Property: Monkgate Guest House
Address: 65 Monkgate, York YO31 7PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkgate Guest House is 200 years old and is only five minutes walk from York Minster and the city centre where you will find beautiful shops and restaurants and all York's attractions close to hand. The property was originally three Georgian cottages so it is cosy and rambling with the quaint features you would expect from an older property. We have two rooms on the ground floor and the other rooms are on the first floor accessed by a flight of stairs. Our breakfast room is warm and inviting and we provide a full, freshly cooked English breakfast with eggs cooked to your requirements alongside the other menu options. We have limited off street parking in a narrow driveway at the side of the house, you will be able to forget your car then and walk to all the amenities! We can however try to arrange more parking if necessary. Free wifi is available in the public rooms and most bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monkgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkgate Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing