We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family style guest house.”
Review of Grange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grange Lodge
Ranked #78 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Superb family style guest house.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fantastic stay we had here for two nights ,Nick and Sarah Grange Lodge owners made us feel very welcome indeed.
The double on suite room we stayed in was very lovely and very clean,well maintained too ,breakfast was plentyful and yummy ,overall a fantastic stay and we will definately will be returning to the Grange Lodge in the future :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
75
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Brilliant place, cheap stay for a weekend in York, breakfast was fantastic and staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the area.

Would fully recommend to anyone great value and right next to the football ground if your visiting for an away day!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joepinchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at Grange Lodge at the end of August for our wedding anniversary. We received a warm and friendly welcome and were issued with a parking permit to park right outside. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was very clean and well decorated. Shower room was fine but a little small and the sink was in the bedroom itself but this did not bother us. Breakfast was superb and they kept offering more coffee and food. Ideal location a short walk from the centre of York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This fantastic guest house is clean, vas a cozy atmorphere, perfect located very near to the city centre and at the same time away from turists and noise. The owners are amazingly friendly and make us feel very wellcome during the whole staying.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in sept 2013 for a weekend. We were given a friendly welcome and given keys with door code and a parking pass for the car on the street. The room was clean tidy it was nothing fancy but had all you need with a welcome pack. Also there was tea and coffee provided.The breakfast was excellant lots to choose from and very friendly service.The location is a very easy stroll about 10 minutes to castle wall.
We enjoyed our stay and have booked again and our looking forward to our stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 6. As others have mentioned it was quite small, and the carpet / furniture could maybe do with replacing, however it was reasonably clean, and the bed comfortable - and it was perfectly fine for a brief stay. The location is reasonably good, far enough away not to be loud at night, close enough to be only a brief stroll into the centre. Breakfast was very nice - a little early for a weekend for me, so we missed the second day - though they did offer to do it later we were packed and ready to go so didn't take them up on it. The owner was friendly and welcoming and all in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandoraspages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Dull old rooms with broken furniture. One plus: nice breakfasts. But when they cook breakfast, smoke and food smells fill the House. Located on a quiet street outside the old walls, 10 minutes walk to Minster.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.0 mi away
Brentwood Guest House
Brentwood Guest House
#55 of 192 in York
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#3 of 192 in York
861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#70 of 192 in York
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge

Property: Grange Lodge
Address: 52 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Grange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing