We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay.”
Review of The York Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The York Priory
Ranked #41 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Short stay.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay was very nice, not spectacular in any way. A nice 20 minute walk into town along the river, the road way is busy and noisy. We didn't have breakfast, and got a good discout online making it good value. The room was ok decor a little tired and not 4 star by any stretch, every thing worked a a good solid bed. The bathroom was large with bath and shower, the finishing was a bit DIY. No real complaints, the staff were pleasant, we had our own key to get in late. The online site prices seem a bit high but if you get a discount, go for it we were made welcome. Our bedroom was on the road side so traffice could be heard from around 6 am.

Room Tip: Rooms by the road are quite noisy from early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith/deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    181
    52
    15
    15
See reviews for
125
237
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stay at this lovely spot regularly now - wonderful! Lovely clean, cosy rooms - friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful breakfasts. Also can bring pets - our lovely dog (Millie) loves her stay - much fussed after. Very good value for money.

Very close to river for walks, shops 3- 4 minutes walk.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaucyM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited the York priory at Easter 2013 for a two night stay the second time we have visited this lovely Hotel rooms are very clean with everything you want tea and coffee, iron, hair dryer the staff are friendly and helpfully the breakfast was perfect with a good selection of cereals yogurt fresh fruit the cooked breakfast is nicely cooked with good quality ingredients nothing too much trouble. The hotel is in a great position a short walk into York centre and a lovely walk by the river is a nice option too will definitely stay at the York Priory agin hoping to visit for birthday treat in November

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently spent one night in the York Priory Hotel. It was an amazing find in a fantastic position close to the river. We walked along the side of the river to the Millennium Bridge and back to the city centre. Our twin room was on the top floor and was a bit of a climb with our bags but the view over the lovely garden with the priory ruins was almost worth the climb. The room itself felt a little cramped compared to the spacious en-suite but as we were only staying one night we didn't mind the lack of space. Breakfast was very tasty and the staff were vey friendly. The best thing of all was fresh milk from a fridge in the lounge for guests to take up to their room in flasks which were insulated enough to keep the milk cool overnight - loved it. We would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stay for our wedding anniversary booked the four poster room with chocolates waiting a small well run with friendly staff and in a good location not far from the city centre lovely room and food excellent worth a visit and would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lovely old building, clean, with super friendly staff, only a ten minute walk along the river bank into York. Dog frienldy too, and because we had only had our dog a short while, and were unsure if she would settle in the room while we had breakfast, they set a table in the bar (instead of dining room) for us to take her with us while we had breakfast. How many places would do that!! Breakfast was excellent.
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can suffer from quite heavy traffic noise, so if that would bother you then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here recently (May 2012) and it is a nice hotel, its very cheap but the service was fantastic and York centre is 10 - 15 minute walk away.

The rooms are a little dated and if you don't like too many stairs make sure you got a room on the ground or first floor.

Breakfast was fantastic, I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor or 1st floor room if you're not a fan of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonalexander_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#32 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#13 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#36 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Priory

Property: The York Priory
Address: 126-128 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The York Priory 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Priory Guest Accommodation. The York Priory was a Grand Victorian End Terrace, of a private residence, that was converted into a hotel in the 1930s by the present owners' grandmother. Its always fondly remembered by customers for the Twin Gothic Arches in the gardens, an original `Victorian Folly' The guesthouse is period styled in William Morris wallcoverings he was a famous designer of the Victorian Era. Eclectic and unique it is a far cry away from the modern, purpose built chain hotels. The Guesthouse could not be better located for the city centre. It's situated less than a mile away from the city centre via pretty riverside promenade, which take you to the historic attractions and a wonderful selection of 1st class restaurants and bars. The York Priory has a large car park to the rear of the guesthouse providing ample free parking space for all the customers of the hotel, for the duration of your stay in York. Just park your car you won't need it If walking isn't your thing then several buses stop outside and return right in front of the guesthouse, all of which go to the city centre and the station. The York Priory is proud to welcome well behaved owners, and their dogs. We are pet friendly and welcome your pets by prior arrangements (a small surcharge is applicable). Special terms and conditions will apply when bringing your pet. We have accommodation to suit all. From a large Adjoining family room that sleeps 5 people over 2 rooms to the smallest room in the house, an en-suite single bedded room overlooking the gardens. The romantic 4 Poster Room has a large bathroom with a full size bath luxury bathrobes and satellite TV. The cosy Classic rooms are en-suite all have flat screen TV, tea and coffee making whilst the comfortable Superior bedrooms are individually decorated and ideal for a longer stay with luxury bathrobes, satellite TV (including a free home movie package), Tea and Coffee Making with upgraded hospitality tray. The Priory is an ideal for an overnight stay or for longer, more relaxing break, visiting the sights of York. Make it more than just a brief visit there's plenty to see and do especially when it's just an hour's ride away all North Yorkshires attractions. On your return, relax into your bedroom or enjoy a drink in the bar, or in the gardens terrace. Whatever your reason for your visit to York you can be sure of a warm Yorkshire Greeting at the York Priory. Ideally situated for The University and The racecourse. The York Priory is situated in the Fishergate the 1036 inner ring road of Fulford road near the city centre and Not to be mistaken with Fulford Village, which is 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The York Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Priory Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing