We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of The York Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The York Priory
Ranked #34 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We came to York for attending a graduation ceremony and the York Priory offered the best we could find in terms of hospitality and relax to make our visit very pleasant. It is in excellent position and with a dedicated parking, which made things for us that rented a car, very easy. The staff has always been kind and gentle, rooms were very clean and big enough. Particularly from our room we enjoyed a great view over Fulford and the southern part of town.
Always very quiet place the York Priory has been a wonderful surprise to celebrate the great occasion of our trip.

Room Tip: The higher, the better, nice view from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreailcujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 518 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having chosen the York Priory at random, we were very pleased with our decision. It is easily walkable into the city from the hotel and the staff were amazingly friendly. We did not have a cooked breakfast but the cold buffet was delicious and the whole hotel was very, very clean, particularly our bathroom - it sparkled. This hotel is indeed a little gem and well worth going to. You need to be nimble on your feet as there is no lift and by the time you reach the upper floors your knees ache, but having said that I can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks to all staff for their friendly and welcoming manner.

Room Tip: We were given a choice of two rooms which was very kind of the owner. There is no lift so if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we were charmed by the friendy service, Certainly all the Staff could not do enough for you. The first night we stayed in a standard room, which was adequate but small, the second night we were upgraded to a superior room at no extra cost.Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, cereal and cooked, service again was quick and friendly. Car park was free(lots seem to charge these days!) with plenty of spaces.Also it was a 10 minute walk by the river to the centre of York. The Hotel helped it make a memorable weekend for us and we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel(front is close to A19) also no lift and stairs are steep and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for three nights and were very pleased, Plenty of Parking available. We had a free upgrade to a superior room which was lovely. The Hotel was very clean and the staff were more than helpful. Breakfast was excellent, we had a full english every day with plenty of other choices available. The Priory is ideally situated for walking into the City and takes about 10 minutes either along the main road or by the river. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will certainly be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter as it is on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

First impressions were good, check in quick and informative. Room was on 3rd floor of hotel plenty of room and good facilities. Breakfast was lovely had a choice was given from pancakes,kippers and full English and was served very quickly. The location was ideal, could walk into York centre within 10 mins along the river.
As for the hotel being 4 star I would disagree, our room was damp with a demidifiyer with wall paper hanging off the ceiling, the bathroom was a little grubby with dirty walls, the hotel is on a busy road into york centre and we were at front of hotel could hear traffic until well after midnight this did not affect our stay and for the price we paid we did not feel robbed, just don't expect 4star luxury. All in all a great trip in a good priced hotel near to York centre.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of hotel...front of hotel on the busy route into York bad traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickygdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just come back from four fab days up in York and the York Priory is a perfect place to stay. We had a lovely family room with all you could need colour tv, hair dryer, en suite bath shower and plenty of tea, coffee etc. The hotel was very clean and warm welcome on reception.
The breakfast was fab good choice and the children were well looked after. There was a Wii, board games and computer for the children to use, and with the hotel been so close to the city centre we didn't need the car that was left on a private car park which was well lit at night time. All staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much mither, we will be visiting again, thanks for a fab break.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel which overlooked a main road, can be noisy at times, would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in the adjoining rooms at the York Priory, for 3 nights, from 22nd October. The rooms were very spacious and clean. There was plenty of storage space to put our belongings. The breakfasts were very good, you could choose off the menu whatever you wanted. The Priory had everything we needed for our stay and more. All the staff were lovely and helpful. The room was near the busy road, but to be honest we did not hear the traffic. It was a short walk into the centre of York, however there was a bus stop near to the hotel. I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: The adjoining rooms are good if you have a family with older children who want a bit of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
3.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.5 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Priory

Address: 126-128 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $74 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The York Priory 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Priory Guest Accommodation. The York Priory was a Grand Victorian End Terrace, of a private residence, that was converted into a hotel in the 1930s by the present owners' grandmother. Its always fondly remembered by customers for the Twin Gothic Arches in the gardens, an original `Victorian Folly' The guesthouse is period styled in William Morris wallcoverings he was a famous designer of the Victorian Era. Eclectic and unique it is a far cry away from the modern, purpose built chain hotels. The Guesthouse could not be better located for the city centre. It's situated less than a mile away from the city centre via pretty riverside promenade, which take you to the historic attractions and a wonderful selection of 1st class restaurants and bars. The York Priory has a large car park to the rear of the guesthouse providing ample free parking space for all the customers of the hotel, for the duration of your stay in York. Just park your car you won't need it If walking isn't your thing then several buses stop outside and return right in front of the guesthouse, all of which go to the city centre and the station. The York Priory is proud to welcome well behaved owners, and their dogs. We are pet friendly and welcome your pets by prior arrangements (a small surcharge is applicable). Special terms and conditions will apply when bringing your pet. We have accommodation to suit all. From a large Adjoining family room that sleeps 5 people over 2 rooms to the smallest room in the house, an en-suite single bedded room overlooking the gardens. The romantic 4 Poster Room has a large bathroom with a full size bath luxury bathrobes and satellite TV. The cosy Classic rooms are en-suite all have flat screen TV, tea and coffee making whilst the comfortable Superior bedrooms are individually decorated and ideal for a longer stay with luxury bathrobes, satellite TV (including a free home movie package), Tea and Coffee Making with upgraded hospitality tray. The Priory is an ideal for an overnight stay or for longer, more relaxing break, visiting the sights of York. Make it more than just a brief visit there's plenty to see and do especially when it's just an hour's ride away all North Yorkshires attractions. On your return, relax into your bedroom or enjoy a drink in the bar, or in the gardens terrace. Whatever your reason for your visit to York you can be sure of a warm Yorkshire Greeting at the York Priory. Ideally situated for The University and The racecourse. The York Priory is situated in the Fishergate the 1036 inner ring road of Fulford road near the city centre and Not to be mistaken with Fulford Village, which is 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The York Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Priory Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing