We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalescroft Guest House

Dalescroft Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalescroft Guest House
Ranked #145 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We found Dalescroft through an internet search and our choice proved to be the best we could make. From start to finish our stay was perfect - a warm, friendly welcome, comfortable room and really good breakfast freshly cooked unlike most hotels. Dalescroft is perfectly placed for access to the centre of York. A walk through Rowntree Park, along by the river, across a bridge and you are there. Alternatively there is a bus route. All in all a great stay. Thank you Iris and Dennis. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in York. We arrived at Dalescroft and Iris introduced herself, her hubby and her dog to us, we were made very welcome. We were given a map and was given directions to the city centre which was a nice 10min walk.
The rooms were lovely and clean, bed nice and soft. We had a kettle, tea coffee and biscuits. In the on suite there were shower gels and soaps in a nice litttle dish for us to use if we wished along wuth towels. The room was cleaned each day and tea, coffee biscuits replaced.

Breakfast....there were cerials, fresh fruit, yoghurt, frest juices tea coffee to have. The a full English breakfast of 2 sausage, 2 bacon, beans, egg, tomatoes and toast with a selection of jams.

We had our own front door key as well as our room key which meant we could return from a night out at anytime in the morning,

I would be booking back up when we next come to York,.

Thank you for your warm hospitality....Im off to join Weight Watchers now after the 2 big breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaterpssyct1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed during the Race weekend on a break with a friend. We didn't want to spend too much and decided to go for a B+B. Service was positive and helpful from initial telephone enquiry to booking confirmation, arrival and check out throughout. Recommended. Iris and Dennis clearly care about their B+B and their guests and the place, although not large and a little dated, is well maintained and conscientiously cleaned on a regularly basis. Cleanliness means a great deal! Paddy the dog (5 months old) doesn't bark much and is a sweetie who loves to greet if guests ask to meet him - he is normally kept out of the way. Our en-suite room had toiletries, towels, tea and coffee making facilities and a small flat screen TV as well as a hairdryer (left inside a drawer). Breakfast is full English and on request, lighter choices can be provided which my friend requested as she normally has bread and cheese for breakfast. Iris made great efforts in ensuring that everyone is well looked after and is very kind. All in all, a really good experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L00ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

arrived with wife for valentines day,we go to york every year and we just need a base to sleep in really so we aren't too bothered about the accomodation , as long as we can sleep. it is however always nice when things are better than you expect, the room was nice and clean and plenty big enough, it wasn't too far a walk to the city centre and the breakfast really does set you up for the day, i didn't have any dinner because i wasn't really hungry enough because of breakfast still. I would definately go back again, many thanx mick & michelle,Grimsby

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

a lovely welcome, great people, very helpful and friendly. 10 min steady walk to clifford castle, shops & buses nearby. Close to racecourse too. quite easy to find even without a satnav! Great breakfast!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

My friend and I stayed in room 4 a cosy twin bedded room, The tea and coffee Facilities were excellent, the room was warm, The Full English breakfast was excellent and huge,
Iris was very friendy and made us very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, You will have a lovely stay here and it was close to York minster,
we had a lovely weekend,
B,Macleod & V. Smith

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, COLORADO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

My husband, sister, and brother-in-law, and I spent three nights at the Dalescroft Guest House. It is located close to the downtown area of York on a quiet street. The nearby village of shops is only a 5 minute walk away and the bus stop for York city center is a block away. This B & B is in an older home that though small is very comfortable. Breakfast was full English and included baked beans as well. Very good value for the money.

I would heartily recommend driving to the next village of Bishopthorpe for dining in several pubs there (particularly Woodman Pub). They serve abundant and tasty food at good prices and it is an easy straight and short drive from the B & B.

I saw one review about the barking dog. Yes there is a dog with the colorful name of "Mad Murphy" but his barking was not a problem in our room upstairs. Iris, our hostess was most helpful and even aided us in contacting some friends in Leeds that we were anxious to meet up with.

For places to see in the area I would heartily recommend Rivaulx Abbey and do stop in the quaint village of Helmsly for tea and pastry. A very pretty Sunday drive on the B 1363 road.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#13 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dairy Guest House
Dairy Guest House
#60 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#48 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Staymor in the City
0.2 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#84 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barrington House
Barrington House
#95 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalescroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalescroft Guest House

Property: Dalescroft Guest House
Address: 10 Southlands Road, York YO23 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalescroft Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing