We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good well worth a stay”

Dalescroft Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalescroft Guest House
Ranked #141 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2011

just returned from a 3 night stay in dalescroft ,must say it was very clean ,
iris gave you a very nice welcome(never did meet dennis)but he sure made a good breakfast,recommend it to anyone.


denise and steven
lowestoft

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cactusjack10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Dalescroft Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

Easy access into york - 10 mins walk, on street parking with supplied parking permit, Wetherspoons pub only a street or so away not far from the Railway Museum.
Clean and comfortable and no children, lovely breakfast - will be using again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosedenemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Dalescroft is a warm, lovely and clean place to stay. It is very homely. The breakfast is generous and delicious and the landlady is very friendly and helpful. I especially liked all the charming touches in the room such as tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies. i would recommend this to anyone. It is great value for money and gives you a truly English experience. i look forward to returning. It is also a convenient walk from the train station and all the major sights. I suggest you eat at Melton's for dinner right up the road.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sereniteanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Peasant enough place, and generally very clean. However they let themselves down by telling me (the afternoon of my arrival) that I had to arrive before 17.35 or after 22.30 as the owners were going to the football... Luckily this JUST worked out for me.. TV was switched off centrally (turning off the central digi box) at 12.30, so nothing to watch after that time! Breakfast not served until 8.15 - too late for me, as I had to leave for appointment around 8am, so just got a packup... Nowhere for laptop - and too many cushions! And shower tray clogged so didn't easily empty...
Oh, really very quiet at night UNTIL dustbins collected at 7am (Wednesdays) - collectors go along the ginnel behind the guest house to bring eight or more bins down from other houses,. so nicely disturbed - but fortunately just about the time I had to wake up!

But, if travelling more leisurely, would be great place (so long as you aren't there on dustbin morning, Wednesday). On-street parking with hotel permit; no wifi.

EXCELLENT take away fish and chips at ?Ebor Fisheries, about 500 hundred yards away, corner of Ebor st and Bishopsthorpe Road; Sainsbury Local also around there.
15 min walk to Cliffords Tower/Museum/Jorvick etc

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

kids booked this weekend on the lnternet (christmas present)
just retuned from a lovely weekend in york. The Dalecroft is a super B&B. Room was very lovely , clean with tea &coffee facilities . Car permit and map of York provided by super lady lris. just a 10/ 15 mins from centre.lris made us both welcome.On Sunday morning sent us off with the best full english breakfast we have ever had.
Thank you again lris for a great weekend

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fossel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The Dalescroft is a great base from which to explore York. It is situated only a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre, which you can walk to via a pleasant riverside route. Iris and Dennis provided a warm, comfortable and friendly home from home. The room was very spacious, with settee and tv and a great shower. The bed was large and v comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty, with excellent provision for vegetarians, a generous amount of cereals, yoghurts, toast, jams and juices. Thankyou very much for a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bythesea82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We were welcomed by Iris at the Dalescroft with a lovely friendly smile. The first thing I noted was how clean this Guesthouse is. We had the top romm at the front and it was spacious with a lovely memory-foam bed. There is ensuite facilities in each room, hairdryer in the dressing table and tea and coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits. There is ample parking along the road and Iris will provide you with your permit on arrival and the road is not generally busy so you can park with confidence. Iris has excellent knowledge of York and directed us to two excellent restraunts. Breakfast is excellent and is served quickly and is well presented with a good variety of cereals etc.
The walk to town is a good 10 minutes but it is an easy walk with not much in the way of hills.
I will without doubt consider using this Guest house in future and at £65 for ensuite plus breakfast so close to the town centre it is a bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mewalshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#49 of 194 in York
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#63 of 194 in York
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warrens
Warrens
#92 of 194 in York
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 194 in York
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalescroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalescroft Guest House

Address: 10 Southlands Road, York YO23 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $54 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalescroft Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dalescroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing