We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #56 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in York”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Lovely room perfectly equippend and clean. Glorious breakfast, with lots of fresh, tasty fruits, and good quality sausage. A warm welcome from George. Unfortunately we had planned to stay only one night, it is worth a longer staying.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
211
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

All that is advertised on the Burswood Guest House web page is true. First and foremost when travelling I look for cleanliness and this house is spotlessly clean. Bathroom facilities are excellent and the bedroom cannot be faulted. I liked having a variety of teas and coffees in the room and fresh milk from with fridge. There was also bottled water. As is usually standard these days, there was a TV. I appreciated being able to iron my own clothes in the room and I had laundry facilities if I was staying longer. I have limited mobility but this was not a problem as I could park easily and access to the dining room from a ground floor room posed no problems. Cuisine was superb and the full English breakfast was a tasty gastronomical experience, - the best i have ever experienced..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We travelled all over Ireland, England and Scotland for 3 weeks, and this was by far the best B&B in which we stayed during the whole trip.. George and Maureen were very gracious and very welcoming. This is exactly what a B&B should be.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone. If you are planning a trip to York, make sure to book your reservations for Burswood. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debud4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were attending a wedding reception and the Burswood was on a list of accommodation within walking distance of the venue. I am so pleased that I chose this as it was fabulous. It's a very easy ride to the centre of York on the number 4 bus which stops close by, but it's the facilities and welcome that make Burswood outstanding. A very warm welcome from George and Maureen, and the beautiful Holly room made for a great night. The best was yet to come.....the breakfast. Served in the conservatory overlooking the garden, it was absolutely delicious . My only complaint? I was only there for one night :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This was not our first visit and it will not be our last. The Burswood maintains the exceptionally high standards we have come to expect: for those who have not yet had the pleasure, let me tell you what to expect.
First impression is of a very well cared-for home with beautiful hanging baskets of flowers and a wonderfully colourful flower bed. Parking is secure and on site. At the front door the welcome from George and Maureen is warm and friendly.
The accommodation is outstanding. For example, our room 'The Orchid' is tastefully decorated and (of course) includes a live orchid; facilities include a fridge, trouser press, ironing board and iron, individual bedside lamps and a central nightlight, a kettle and good quality crockery with an ample supply of tea, coffee and biscuits and George provides fresh milk and mineral water daily. There are a couple of comfy armchairs. The bathroom has a bath with shower attachment as well a big walk-in shower and there is a heated towel rail. We always seem to travel with far too many bags, but we manage to tuck them away in the limited, but well thought-out storage space.
Breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the garden - there are binoculars for keen bird-watchers - is simply excellent. Fresh fruit in abundance (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries all available in season) a choice of cereals, tea, coffee and as much toast as you can eat accompany a full English breakfast of outstanding quality and presentation.
A word about the location: on the Tadcaster road, just outside the city of York, Burswood is ideally located for the Knavesmire, famous in history and legend as the place where higwayman Dick Turpin was hanged, but today the location for just about the best horseracing in Britain. The grandstand is easy walking distance, so avoiding the hassle of the racecourse carparks. It is also a great jumping off place for the North Yorkshire moors and the Derby dales.
In short, if there is a better B&B than Burswood in the United Kingdom we have yet to discover it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

This is luxury at its best is a small family run guest house. Feather pillows, king-size bed, heavy towels, remote controlled air-conditioning. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated to a very high standard with real plants and flowers. A fridge in your room and flat screen TV. The owners couldn't do enough to help. Superb!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, Northumberland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The Burswood Guest House is the perfect place to stay in York especially if you plan to go to the races. The location is second to none with extremely easy access into York City Centre on local buses which run every 10mins. The racecourse is in walking distance. We loved our room and the breakfast was outstanding. The hosts, George and Maureen were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MXD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#53 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing