We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #53 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbys
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed here 18th Sept for 2 nights. Arrived late on the Friday night to a warm welcome from George the owner. First impressions were very good, the guest house is situated on the main road into York city centre, but you cannot hear the busy road when your in your room. We stayed in the Holly room which was lovely, spacious, comfortable and very clean. We woke the next morning and headed to the consevatory for breakfast which overlooks the beautiful garden ( Gearge obviously takes pride in his garden). We both had some fresh fruit and then the cooked breakfast which to be honest was 1 of the best breakfasts I have ever had.
George has a beautiful home and has obviously spent a lot of money decorationg it even down to the silver prongs to pick up your sugar cubes. All in all this was the best guest house I have ever stayed in and I will definitely be coming back, nothing is too much trouble for George and I feel I got value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takeiteazzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
215
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Stayed for just one night over the bank holiday weekend. Appreciated the fact that we could just book for the single night as many places in York had a minimum 2-night stay at the weekend.

Rooms were spotless and very comfortable and every last detail had been thought of.
Breakfast also delicious and a good choice available. Very welcoming hosts.

Only thing to note is that it is about a 25 minute walk from the centre of York, which as long as you are aware of that it's fine. Very handy for the racecourse though, being virtually across the road. There is a regular bus service into the centre if you need it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaDrinker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, UK
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Burswood is a fabulous place to stay whilst on holiday in York. George and Maureen are fabulous hosts, very friendly and helpful. George's breakfasts are amazing!! The rooms are extremely clean and tidy, it's almost like staying in a posh hotel! Security is a focal point too so you always feel safe. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

The second stay at the Burswood, and it was excellent both times, with wonderful attention to all details, a friendly welcome and very good value.

The rooms are amazingly well equipped, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Room and bathroom standard is well above normal hotel standard.

Excellent breakfast – even fresh strawberries, in a super breakfast room overlooking lovely garden. Local hot items high quality and beautifully cooked and presented. Wide range of choices and first class table settings.

Easy parking and close to a very frequent bus route to the City Centre.

We are regular visitors to York and on our first visit needed to stay for one night only over the Bank Holiday weekend, so we ran into the usual problem that most places demand a two night minimum stay. The Burswood didn't and we are only sorry we didn’t discover the Burswood years ago.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_lCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at Burswood for the third straight year and, once again, it was great. George and Maureen are warm and welcoming, but that does not mean they are not professional in their approach, indeed nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is an occasion when George tempts guests with his range of culinary skills plus fruits bought fresh daily. The accommodation is as immaculate and comfortable as ever. If there were a competition for best guest house in the UK, Burswood would probably win it. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

On arrival at Burswood Guest House we were immediately struck by the presentation of the exterior and how much care must be given to this. To us this is a good sign of how a householder runs his home. Mr. & Mrs. Lewis welcomed us into their extremely clean, tidy and bright home. There was sufficient parking for each room, the use of which we found invaluable during our stay. Before unpacking we sat in the lovely garden with a cup of tea, ideal after a long car journey.

Our room was well appointed, spotless with many extras including robes, a well stocked tea tray and chocolates at night! The provision of a ceiling fan and fridge was welcome. If we were to nit pick, perhaps the room was a trifle overfurnished for our personal taste, i.e. was there a need for two chairs and two suitcase stands, take these out and the room would appear more spacious, but George’s heart is certainly in making his guest’s stay a very comfortable one.

The Burswood is situated just 30 minutes walk outside of the walls of York but we found this beneficial after a hectic day sightseeing. It was relaxing just walking or using the frequent No 4 bus service into town and back to a nice quiet area. The Burswood is well located for eating places, one pub being only yards away.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory using spotless tablecloths and crockery. The food was freshly cooked, of excellent quality and in abundance. A most uplifting start to the day. But beware! If you innocently mention that you like a certain item George will have it there the next morning especially for you. Personal attention counts for a lot and nothing is too much trouble for George & Maureen.

Overall, a charming establishment with a charming room and charming garden, but let’s not forget the charming hosts Maureen & George Lewis.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not-Oldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The breakfast was something to boast about, it must be the best in Yorkshire. Very well presented and George was very pleasent and responded to our every request.
It was served in a very pleasant dinning room, with views of the garden and the birds.
The room was very comforable and cosy, with every aminety needed.
A very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnD456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
0.2 mi away
Curzon Lodge and Stable Cottages
5.4 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,389 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing