We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #56 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Outstanding in every way. The ensuite room was spotlessly clean and had everything, including air conditioning and even plentiful FRESH milk. The
Breakfast was top draw and the service second to none, including that found at top hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
211
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After choosing this place due to the good reviews we were still surprised with exactly how excellent the place was - the owner George and his wife had thought of just about everything you would need on your stay and manage to fit them all in without overcrowding the rooms which are beautiful and comfy. It felt more like a hotel than a guest house but with the more personal touch of a small, family run place. To top it off the breakfasts are amazing with locally sourced ingredients and a special view whilst you eat.
Burswood is a brief bus ride away from the centre and not too expensive via taxi either. There is also a brilliant Indian called Jorvik Spice down the road into the centre where the staff go the extra mile! Overall, we would love to go back to this Guest House.

Room Tip: Make sure to check their official website for specific details on each room and their differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nataliaf284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When you scan down the list of reviews you begin to wonder......can it be true? Fact is YES.
George "mine host" is everything you want and more. Exacting standards in abundance makes it a truly mind blowing experience. Perfection, perfection compounded by perfection. From the moment you enter his home the depth of his commitment and sincerity shines through. Why has it taken me so long to find this wonderful place. The Garden Room is a wonderful place to rest your head and is highly recommended. And as for his breakfast................remarkable. Good on you George and thanks for a memorable weekend

Room Tip: We were shown to the Holly Room which is beautiful but wanted a bath. The Garden Room with its outlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great place to stay, lovely host, fab breakfast, so much choice and excellent quality. George is lovely, and his rooms are very clean and comfortable. Very cosy bed! We will be hoping to return! Xxxxxxxx

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicoleGauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Burswood Guest House is an excellent place to stay. Located opposite the racecourse and a nice 30 minute stroll to the city walls it is perfectly situated. We stayed in the Lavender Room on the first floor which was spotlessly clean, comfortable and included tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge with fresh milk and bottled water plus dressing gowns and slippers. The bathroom was well stocked with all you would require. Breakfast was a real treat with a large choice of fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt plus a full English. For that extra touch of luxury there was also an option of smoked salmon on the menu! George was an excellent host throughout our stay and we will definitely stay here again. I would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in the York area.

Room Tip: Just a point on the Lavender Room. This is a loft conversion and has sloping ceilings. This was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had an amazing honeymoon stay at the Burswood the honeymoon suite was beautiful and immaculate the bathroom was amazing.The facilities were fab the chocolates are a lovely touch.George the host was a lovely lovely man nothing was too much trouble he makes the most amazing breakfast so much so our stay could of been in a five star hotel .George was also very generous leaving us a lovely suprise bottle of wine in our room to celebrate our wedding we will be staying here again and i have already reccommended the burswood to friends thanks george we had a fab stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very nice rooms, comfortable and clean. The breakfast is the best we've had in any B&B, or Hotel for that matter, with lots of choice. The B&B is only a 30 min stroll to the City wall (Also easy to hop on a bus). The pub next door has a good atmosphere and good food (for a chain), most importantly had a choice of real ales ;-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieandChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing