We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect breakfast !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #51 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect breakfast !”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent accommodation - Everything pristine and extremely comfortable - All needs catered for - Breakfasts were absolutely sumptuous. Ideal location - on main bus routes and opposite the racecourse stables with a 10 minute walk to the course. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Motty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
215
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed Burswood Guest House the first time was last year for 3 nights. Then this year we stayed 4 nights, we was very impressive last year with the service and the quality of are stay that why we returned. The cooked breakfast was very impressive and George and Maureen was so welcoming.
The bus stops right outside which makes the amenites easy reach, the public services are excellent you can travel to Leeds or Witby. We sometimes walked in to York centre which only takes 10mins so its very convenient. Yorks racecourse is just across the road so if your into horse racing you have everything on the door step.

Room Tip: The ground floor room we stayed in was excellent it had a double a single bed, it was quiet and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wonderful service and friendly but not intrusive attention from George and Maureen. Convenient for bus services, help with luggage storage if needed, for the non-driver like me. First floor rooms in summer certainty benefit from the air conditioning, and also a bit of traffic noise to adjust to. All amenities to a very good standard and appreciated the milk and water supply in the fridge. Good breakfast choices especially the fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Lavender and Orchid are first floor so other three rooms may have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mburto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned to Australia from a trip to the UK. Without doubt one of the highlights of our trip was the five nights that we stayed with Maureen and George at the Burswood Guest House in mid July.
Our room was the ‘honeymoon suite’ with a king size bed, two comfortable armchairs, TV and a refrigerator that came complete with bottled water and fresh milk.
The linen was changed and the room was cleaned and tidied every day.
The dining room overlooks an attractive garden where you can sit back and enjoy breakfast with an extensive choice of fresh fruit and cereals followed by George’s speciality, fried eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, baked beans, mushrooms and toast all superbly cooked.
Following an early Sunday morning visit to the National Railway Museum (NRM), on my return George was happy to cook a special breakfast for me well after the normal breakfast finishing time.
The guest house is located very close to a bus stop for buses to York and elsewhere so the car can be left in the guests parking area all day. Evening meals are available either from two local public houses or two takeaways either Chinese or fish & chips.
Very well recommended to all railway enthusiasts and anyone who wishes to visit the NRM and ride on tour trains from York, or visit the other historical attractions around City and beyond.
A very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have just come back from 2 nights stay from this guesthouse. Warm and professional service by George and Maureen was impressive. George's cooked breakfast exceeds 5 star hotel standards.
Spotlessly clean. Amenities well provided. Just over 30 minutes away from Castle Howard, less than 10 to the Car park near Shamble. Good bus service too. Nearby pub provides good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YWhitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very nice B&B. George and Maureen are great hosts and the house is very cute and well outfitted. The room (honeymoon suite) was very nice and comfortable. There was a fridge and even milk provided for our tea. The breakfast was very nice – a big selection of fresh fruit with a coffee, tea and bread. George was also eager to provide a cooked breakfast – good scrambled eggs. The only issue was that we were in the Orchid room which while very nice is right off the carriageway/road so for light sleepers like us it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room not on the may motorway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston_Eriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently returned from a lovely 2 night stay at this exemplary guest house that justifies the top reviews it receives from fellow travellers .This is due entirely to the hospitality and the pristine accommodation provided by the owners George & Maureen . Ideally located on the main road in to York and opposite the racecourse ;York is a 30 minute stroll away -although we went in on the bus -bus stop virtually outside the Burswood.
The Garden room overlooks the back garden and was pristine -with a lovely bed and little luxuries provided by owners who 'go the extra mile'
Breakfast was superb- vast selection , local produce where possible and a full English breakfast of the highest order .Breakfast is taken in the conservatory at the rear of the property and overlooks a well tended garden .Well worth a stroll in to the back garden to see the koi carp in the pond
Extremely highly rated by us and a definite re visit planned in the near future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24-7lleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Curzon Lodge and Stable Cottages
0.3 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
5.4 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 192 in York
1,368 reviews
1.9 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 192 in York
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Property: Burswood Guest House
Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing