We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat Yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burswood Guest House
Ranked #60 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The full English breakfast was beautifully cooked, the fruit was fresh and tasty and a huge choice. The rooms and service was better than a 4 star hotel all run by one man, George the owner. Thanks for a great weekend and making us so welcome!

Room Tip: They are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 367 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed with George at the Burswood guest house for 3 nights in April 2013. George is fastidious in the way he keeps the accomodation and our room was immaculate. We had a downstairs room with a queen size bed plus a seperate single so there was plenty of room. The ensuite was well laid out but compact (like all the B & Bs we stayed in). George couldn't do enough for us and was very personable. He also cooks a great breakfast. The location is good on a bus route that takes 10 minutes into York. We had a car but the bus was easier. Burswood Guest house belongs at the top level for B & Bs and is hard to fault. We would recommend it to all family and friends and would stay there again if returning to York. Thanks George

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We only spent 1 night, but felt like we had left a friend driving out the next morning. George could not have been more welcoming an dgenuine with us. We arrived in the afternoon and walked to town to enjoy all that York has to offer, including a very nice dinner along the riverside. George made a delicious breakfast the next morning and we had quite a chat. Room was clean and comfortable, Wi-Fi was availabler - all in all a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: We had the Holly Room - very nice and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our trip to York could not have been made more pleasurable than choosing the Burswood
Guest House as our base. We spent six days of comfort, and delight, thanks to the host George,
who made sure every wish was catered for. Beautiful clean linen, a superb breakfast. and our bedroom which was the garden room had every comfort. This is the only place to stay in York
if you want to be pampered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this B&B based on the other Trip advisor reviews and glad we did. It is very well located close to the centre and right next to the racecourse with off street parking.

We booked two rooms, the Orchid (honeymoon suite) which is on the top floor and the twin room (Lavender I think it was) on the ground floor. The Orchid room has everything you need including air con which was a big plus as it was very warm during our stay. Bathropes, slippers, water etc all provided in the room. Bathroom has both bath and shower.

George is a very welcoming host. Breakfast was very good and I have never seen such a range of fresh fruit provided for breakfast I was in my element as I'm not a hot breakfast person. Only thing I would say is that breakfast does not start until 8.30 which was late for us as we're usually up and out by then wanting to make the most of the day.

Would definately recommend a stay and we'd be sure to return if we get the chance to visit York again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NichaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we had a fabulous weekend staying @ Burswood guest house,warm & welcoming,clean.we had everything we could possibly want...George is a very attentive host..i thoroughly recommend the 'Burswood full english breakfast'..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at The Burswood Guest House (we were in the Orchid Room). We found the rooms to be spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything we required, or were likely to require, for a short stay. Top quality fitttings and furnishings and excellent en suite bathroom. Room was warm and comfortable and had air conditioning which would have been great if the weather had been warmer.. Bed was very comfortable. Set up is such that guests with their supplied own key can come and go as they please. The excellent breakfasts were served in a beautiful 'garden room' looking out onto the garden and fish pond. Very relaxing having breakfast while watching the birds outside. George the owner (and chef) was very friendly and helpful and is certainly willing to 'go the extra mile' to ensure his guests have the most pleasant stay possible. The guest house location is good for all the surrounding attractions. We could find no fault whatsoever and have no hesitation in giving our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We were in the Orchid Room but George did show us his other rooms all of which were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
5.3 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#41 of 194 in York
325 reviews
8.6 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
1.1 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Address: 68 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $118 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing