We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Guest House

Ambleside Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside Guest House
Ranked #159 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Myself and my husband planned to visit York for a long weekend for our wedding anniversary - not realising this coincided with York races!!

Many places were booked up, or taking "advantage" (some would substitute "the p***" there) of the busy race weekend by upping their published prices by anything from 30-100%!

Keith at the Ambleside, however, quoted exactly what his website prices stated so we booked there. And we weren't disappointed.

Location is good, with parking permits given out for the duration of your stay to park on the road outside. It was an easy 10 min stroll to reach the northern gate of the city walls, with York Minster only a couple of mins from there.

Accommodation was a small basic room, but it was very clean and had everything you would need (shower, toilet, sink, wardrobe, bed, small TV) - it would probably be a bit small if you were staying for a week, but for a weekend it was perfect. I think there were bigger 'family' rooms on the top floor, though.

Breakfast was cooked to order by Keith - he really does do everything, and always seems to be available!

Overall, we would definitely recommend staying here for a city break away.
Keith could not have been more helpful at advising us of the best places to go to make the most of our limited time - he even marked restaurants on the maps for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel 'Evans' Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is a very nice bed and breakfast: the room was small but very clean and cosy, with very good breakfast and in a quiet position (it took us more or less 10 minutes to walk to the cathedral). Keith is so friendly and helpful that we really had a very pleasant stay. We booked it through the information office in the city centre. A place we recommend in York!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leocester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Lovely Bed and Breakfast close to the centre of York. Rooms basic but everything you need in them, en suite very nice although small. Breakfast lovely, good choice. Keith is extremely helpful and knowledgeable of York.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloLeocester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

we think it is our 5th time staying at the Ambleside and it just keeps getting better we can only describe keith as the :pulse: of York because if you want to know anything about York and its surrounds see him, we had a great time great stay....Sylvia and Jimmy.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leocester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

Lovely Bed & Breakfast. Keith was very helpful with where to go and what to do. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms a little on the small side but very clean and tidy. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloLeocester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Absolutely love York, stayed a few times. First time at Ambleside but definitely not the last. Keith is very friendly and informed us of various things to do and see. Definitely booking for May 2010.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedalpushingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in York. Keith really is the loveliest, most chilled out host we've ever experienced. From the initial phone call I had a good feeling about the place. His cheery morning manner sets you up for the day, together with his excellent breakfast. Such a refreshing change from some of the 'faceless establishments' we have visited before. Although we had visited York on many occasions, he always came up with new suggestions for things to see. We will be back!

  • Liked — friendly owner
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#41 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#173 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#65 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#88 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bootham Tavern
Bootham Tavern
#124 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trembling Madness Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Guest House

Property: Ambleside Guest House
Address: 62 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambleside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing