We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Accommodation, Fabulous Location...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lendal Tower

Lendal Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Mezzanine floor bedroom
Living room
Living Room
Spiral staircase leading up the 4 floors of the Tower
Original water meter
Solid oak dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace and Museum Gardens
The beautiful secluded garden
Lendal Tower from a distance alongside Lendal Bridge
The Tower in the snow
The Tower in the snow II
Visit England 5 Star Grading
Visit England Gold Award Winning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gloria M
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous Accommodation, Fabulous Location, Fabulous Welcome”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

York is a lovely city with lots to do and many lovely places to eat, drink and generally have a good time. However, the highlight of our visit had to be staying in Lendal Tower. Myself, my husband and our two boys stayed in the Tower for five days and it was a truly memorable experience. The facilities, the welcome and the ambiance of the Tower was just superb, very atmospheric and so much better than a bland hotel that would have cost the same. We were delighted to return the the Tower every day as we were with all our experiences, we all absolutely loved it. Thanks very much to Mike and to Nathan, we had an excellent stay.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
It is fantastic to hear that you all had such a great time in York and that staying in the Tower was your particular highlight!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, historic building right in the centre of York”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Met up with old friends for our annual reunion in Lendal Tower.
We really enjoyed our stay - lots to see and do, and all within walking distance. We were warmly welcomed by Mike, and found the property very comfortable. The views from the roof terrace were outstanding; enjoyed with a glass of fizz as the sun went down.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about Lendal Tower. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that the weather was kind enough to allow you to enjoy the sunsets!

It was our pleasure to accommodate you for your annual reunion and I hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future.


Best Regards,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
666Suzi66...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Luxurious unique Tower right in the middle of York - wonderful.”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Greeted in person and showed all around - lovely touch. Unexpected luxury welcome pack left in the kitchen, with bottle of Prosecco in the fridge. A great start to a simply brilliant stay. HUGE bedrooms, beautifully furnished, it was better by miles than we even hoped for. Particularly loved the fantastic roof top terrace each evening for drinks overlooking the rooftops and river - what a place! (tip - take a shopping basket on a rope with you to get six glasses, a couple of bottles of wine, dip and crisps up there!) The garden was lovely for lunch and very private. Mezzanine bedroom has no bathroom and you have to go downstairs and across lounge to get to downstairs loo/shower. But it has screens to save embarrassment from lounge and was no problem whatsoever. Top bedroom is 39 steps up a wooden spiral staircase - we went and bought a kettle for early morning tea rather than disturb the two other floors with lots of creaking stairs but this was our choice. Lendal Tower is a superb place and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in York. Thank you Nathan and Mark.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and roof terrace
Liked least: size of dishwaster
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and managed to make good use of both the roof terrace and garden for lunch and drinks.

Once again thank you for the kind review, we would love to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sho37
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway ”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a girls wk end away & must say I was impressed at Lendal Tower it's spacious & lovely, the view from the roof top is amazing & there's so much to do in York it's the perfect getaway.

Date of stay: November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted to hear that you had such an excellent weekend with your friends. It is great to read that you enjoyed the Tower so much and in particular that you found the roof terrace to be fantastic.

We would be thrilled to accommodate you again in future if you are ever looking to re-visit York.


All the best,

Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're delighted to hear you had such a great time in York and were able to make full use of all the facilities at the Tower.
It has been our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Tower soon.

Kind Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Farrierre...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“As good as it gets.”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place to stay. Historic castle, centrally placed with perfect river views. Greater luxury than a 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2015
I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to the Tower in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy B
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was a fantastic holiday my Daughter had her 16th birthday and my Husband had his 50th birthday . It was magical . We are absolutely going to book next year. The best holiday we have ever had and we have been on many.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of being in Lendal Tower .Fantastic
Liked least: There is nothing to comment on this as it was all superb !!!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted to hear you had such a great stay at the Tower. I hope your daughter and husband enjoyed their birthday celebrations and we would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing