We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay if you're heading to York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Friars Rest Guest House
Ranked #43 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Friars Rest is a great place to stay if you're heading to York. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable with TVs and tea making facilities. The breakfasts are a good size and delicious. Its situation is ideal for travelling into the centre of town by foot or heading out of York by car. This was our third visit and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Thanks for your nice review of your stay, it was nice to meet you, we are pleased you enjoyed our room and our very good position , with an easy walk into York Centre --Take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 434 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2010

stayed for 3 nights this B & B is convienient for the city centre, a lovely walk along the river takes about 8/10 mins max, car parking available. You are given your own keys to access both the front doors. A lovely breakfast was provided with lots of choices of cereals and a cooked breakfast of your choice, nice clean room with towels changed daily, we loved York which had so much to see, will be back. thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilaryMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Thanks for your nice review of your stay, it was nice to meet you, we are pleased you enjoyed our room and our very good position , with an easy walk into York Centre --Take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I spent six nights in Friars rest guesthouse during October 2010 and I could say that it was very enjoyable stay. The cozy room, pleasant staffs meet guest’s needs, excellent breakfast, and very good location near city center and the University of York exceeded all my expectations. After all, I can highly recommend this guesthouse to all who seek peaceful and quiet place to rest after busy day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmina_ludoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

An excellent review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with and hope you may stay with us again, Take Care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I don't normally write reviews on such websites but i thought it right to do so on this occation.

Myself and my girlfriend spent 2 night at Friars Rest a few weeks ago and couldn't be more happy with the B&B stay.

The price was fantastic, the location was perfect, the bedroom/bathroom was just what we needed and the breakfast was the just what you needed to spend the day exploring York.

Will come again for sure!!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Foxington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2015

An excellent review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with and hope you may stay with us again, Take Care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Really good stay, convenient, great breakfast, all you need, very friendly, great rooms. I enjoyed staying at the Friars Rest and booking was easy, parking brill - right outside, very clean, tidy and good value for money... :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tel1Guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

Thanks for a great review, and I have passed on your comments to my team, who do also appreciate this .we are in a great position for walking into York , and if you come by car we guarantee you free parking with us, . Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Room was excellent, parking out in front. One block from the river which offered a wonderful walk and easy access to downtown York and the wall. Breakfast were great as well as the hospitality. Cozy & warm.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargLowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Thanks for your nice review of your stay, it was nice to meet you, we are pleased you enjoyed our room and our very good position , with an easy walk into York Centre --Take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My mum (75) and I stayed for 2 nights at Friars Rest and thoroughly enjoyed it. Friendly, helpful, a good nights sleep, great breakfast and parking included (a necessary for York). An easy walk into York along the river or the bus runs from across the road. Booked over the internet and all responses were prompt and what we were promised we got. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajoneill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Thanks you a very nice review of your recent stay with us, we do appreciate this and hope to meet you again if you stay in York -- take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#47 of 194 in York
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#28 of 194 in York
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#35 of 194 in York
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $69 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to stay at Friars Rest Guest House. We are a family run B&B situated just out of York City Centre which is approximately a 10 minute walk away. We offer comfortable ensuite rooms, well equipped and furnished, all at an affordable price. Your booking includes a freshly cooked full English breakfast (vegetarian options also available)& Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing