We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friars Rest Guest House
Ranked #29 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The guesthouse was a bit tired but it was clean and comfortable. There was ample off street parking and it is within walking distance of the city center. There is a pub and several take aways nearby. If you are looking for something cheap and cheerful, then this is for you. The breakfast menu was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirklees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    116
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
77
248
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

great place to stay and see york and a nice little pub across the road serving good food, phil,s a top guy, thks mate for all your help and the phone call after we had left telling me i had left my power cable behind. i was very happy with my stay and would book again at phil,s place if in york.top b/fast and sleep.
john.c

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Thanks you a very nice review of your recent stay with us, we do appreciate this and hope to meet you again if you stay in York -- take care Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had wanted to find somewhere reasonably priced and close to York centre and that is what we got. Phil was helpful from the start. He welcomed us, gave us the information we needed and helped us to the room. The room was perfect. Small, cosy and although we were facing the main road, quiet at night. Once you shut the window you do not hear the traffic, plus everything seemingly stops at 11pm in York. The en suite was nice, shower was always hot. The bed was comfortable. We were only a few minutes away from York, which was perfect. The breakfast in the morning was lovely. The service was quick and all you had to do was ask if you wanted more juice or tea. Parking was included, the rooms were clean and the staff made sure your room was clean for when you get back. We are intending to go back to York again and certainly will remember Phil's B&B as we would recommend and stay again. When we booked, we did it through another website and booked the only room available, which was a family room. Phil called us soon after and offered us a smaller room at the same price. I am sure if we had any issues, Phil would have sorted it out for us with no complaints. A lovely, peaceful, happy little B&B that I will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara-Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review, we are pleased you appreciated our great location, with a short walk into York along the river side. Our guaranteed free parking while you stay with us in our car park and our home cooked breakfasts are things you did appreciate and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had such a relaxing time with my girlfriend here, I would definitely recommend this B&B to other gay couples looking for somewhere close to town as we had such a warm welcome. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was great.The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you need plus it's just a 10-15 minute stroll into the centre on York along the river. We will definitely be staying again when we come back to York! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks Naomi for a very nice review with some lovely comments, we really appreciate this and hope you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Exemplary service. You could not fault either breakfasts or cleanliness, parking is ample and although on a busy road, our room was wonderfully quiet - infact this been the best thre nights sleep we have had in a long time! Very highly recommended. We will definitely return at a later date.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks Paula, for a really nice review, we are really pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts and free car parking, and hope you will stay with us again if you visit York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room was attractive and comfortable, the breakfast amazing and parking included. Within easy walking distance of the town centre. We really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended this B&B to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks you for a really nice review and we hope to see you again if you visit York .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to friars rest and again a very welcoming and pleasant stay, the walk into the centre no more than ten mins along a very pretty riverside path. The b and b itself I can't fault very clean and welcoming with friendly owners, the room comfortable with everything you need including free parking which is a must in York. wouldn't hesitate in recommending and look forward to my 3rd visit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Manager at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
A really excellent review, and thank you for your second visit with us, we are really pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.0 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
494 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#32 of 192 in York
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Property: Friars Rest Guest House
Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to stay at Friars Rest Guest House. We are a family run B&B situated just out of York City Centre which is approximately a 10 minute walk away. We offer comfortable ensuite rooms, well equipped and furnished, all at an affordable price. Your booking includes a freshly cooked full English breakfast (vegetarian options also available)& Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing