We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to return .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friars Rest Guest House
Ranked #29 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Cant wait to return .”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Found this guest house on trip advisor & the reviews sold it too me . A fantastic location just 15minutes walk away from the city centre . The owner Phil was very helpful & friendly . The room was fab ,we stayed on the top floor and the wifi was great, our room had everything we needed . Breakfast was amazing and you could tell the team have running that place down to a fine art :) . Cannot wait to return and would recommend a stay here to anyone . Well done on such a wonderful guest house .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review, we are pleased you appreciated our great location, near to York centre and our guaranteed free parking for your car while you stay with us. Our breakfasts set you up for the days sightseeing, and hope you may stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    116
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
77
248
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just got back after having spent 2 nights there,ideal location 15 min walk to centre,
B&b very clean,breakfast was great quick and hot,
Very warm welcome and it was our 1st wedding anniversary and my birthday they had a card and balloons on the breakfast table which was a loverly touch,
Will be staying there again and would recommend this place .
Thank you both again
Lv nelly and Peggy crane x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
A really nice review, thank you for staying with us and hope you had a great birthday and anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

this is an exception guest house wish i had found it sooner nothing was to much for the staff a nd the room was of very good standard. the breakfast was very good with a good choices. will definatly stay there again

Room Tip: no lift so bear this in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us, and I am glad we met with all your expectations. Hope you may stay with us again in the furure .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Friars Rest is a lovely guest house in a brilliant location. It is only a few minutes walk to the river and a 10-15 minute walk to York city centre. The room was clean and adequate for our stay and we found it a brilliant base for exploring the city. There were lots of informational leaflets in the foyer which were of help to us and the breakfast of cereals and a full english breakfast set us up for the day. The staff were warm and welcoming, especially Marian who cooks the delicious breakfast. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 7 is the best option if you find it difficult climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Thank you for a fantastic review of your stay with us and you lovely comments , we are pleased you liked out free parking and excellent position , take care and hope you may stay with us again in the future .Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of Jan 2013. It was a brilliant experience. We stayed for the weekend - 2 nights, and felt welcomed from the first minute we arrived. The price was reasonable, and the quality of service was high. The beds were really comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the welcome was friendly and hospitable. It was a brilliant location, as it was a nice pleasant walk into the centre of York, without the nightly noise. We had a place to park our car in a private car park and we left it there the whole weekend. A truly amazing experience, and we will be sure to stay here if we go to York again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateW766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review--, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The friars rest is in a great location only a 15 minute walk in to york city centre. It had great parking , some right outside some in a private car park. The staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was a good size and very clean and the breakfast was great. All in all the friars rest was a good choice and would definatly stay there again.q

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbrown250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Thanks you so much for you lovely comments with your recent stay with us , we do offer a good freshly prepared breakfast with a good choice to set you up for the day , and look after you to make your stay as comfortable as possible, . Take care Phil and Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here late January for a very reasonable price for one night. The staff were very welcoming, the room was cosy, comfortable and just the right space for two people, and the room and ensuite were clean and well lit. We had a peaceful nights sleep and woke up to a delicious fry up and tea in the morning. It is about five minutes walk to the very center of York. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, June 8, 2015
Thanks you so much for you lovely comments with your recent stay with us , we do offer a good freshly prepared breakfast with a good choice to set you up for the day , and look after you to make your stay as comfortable as possible, . Take care Phil and Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.0 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
494 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#32 of 192 in York
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Property: Friars Rest Guest House
Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to stay at Friars Rest Guest House. We are a family run B&B situated just out of York City Centre which is approximately a 10 minute walk away. We offer comfortable ensuite rooms, well equipped and furnished, all at an affordable price. Your booking includes a freshly cooked full English breakfast (vegetarian options also available)& Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing