We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
299
120
24
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
120
24
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centrefull englishfree parkingfamily roomroom was cleanlovely breakfastriverside walkstayed for nightscooked breakfastfront of the houseminute walkleave the carlovely guesthousereal bonusroad noisegreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 451 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Chose Friars Rest as it is a short drive to university (to pick up offspring) and short walk into town. Good price for York at a weekend also helped. Room was quite small but perfectly adequate for two, spotlessly clean and very, very warm. Breakfasts were good and quickly served. Sainsbury Local a short walk away, plus two pubs serving food close by to avoid the stags and hens on a Saturday night in the city centre. parking either on road outside or a v short walk away.
Thanks v much Friars Rest

Room Tip: Fulford Road is busy but traffic noise not a problem for us.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryncyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Thank you for a fantastic review of your recent stay with us and you lovely comments , we are pleased you liked out free parking and excellent position , take care and hope you may stay with us again in the future .Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here over two nights with my partner and was very impressed with the Guesthouse overall. We had booked into a room that has a separate toilet however as this was stated it was not a problem and only round the corner from the room itself. The room was clean, tidy and perfect size for a couple of nights. The room had a shower cubicle and basin within it with good water pressure and was spotlessly clean. We were arriving later than the arranged check in time but this was not an issue as the gentleman who runs it rang me before hand to explain a 'self check in'. The whole weekend we felt very welcomed and like we could spend it how we wanted, they were very helpful but were not pushy at all- just as we wanted. Parking was via permit just outside the hotel and as others have said the walk into York was 10 minutes at the most. I would highly recommend Friars Rest to anyone looking for a comfortable, close stay in York and would stay there again next time we visit. Excellent!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Thanks you so much for you lovely comments with your recent stay with us , we do offer a good freshly prepared breakfast with a good choice to set you up for the day , and look after you to make your stay as comfortable as possible, . Take care Phil and Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a lovely 2 night stay at the Friars Rest. Only the 2 of us but got the family room so enjoyed plenty of space. Very good price, got the room for the weekend for about the price of a one night stay at a more "upmarket" hotel - and pleased that we did. Staff and owner very welcoming, super breakfast and very handy parking. Good room facilities and easy walking distance to town. A little gem,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebourneidentity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Thanks for your nice review of your stay, it was nice to meet you, we are pleased you enjoyed our room and our very good position , with an easy walk into York Centre --Take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I recently stayed for four nights. My decision was based on the recommendation of friends. Everything about this B&B exceeded my expectations. The room I got was large and clean, the shower stall spacious with excellent water pressure, and I really appreciated the ease of making coffee or tea in the room. The cooked breakfast was positively heavenly, and an excellent way to start the day. Everybody I dealt with was extremely friendly, and I got great help arranging taxis as needed. The B&B is within very easy walking distance to the bus stop (for #44) which I took a couple of times to town and to the university. This is an excellent place to stay in York. The price was really, really reasonable. Having come to York from London, the facilities at Friar's Rest were far superior to what I had at the other place. I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: My room on the highest floor was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

An excellent review, thank you for taking the time to do this, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable and a reasonable size with everything that you need. The ensuite was on the small side and I wasn't hugely impressed with the water pressure...a bit of a dribble really. Breakfast was nice and served promptly. Parking was also nice and close - about 15 metres up the road.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hi Becky and thanks for your review.Normally the water pressure is fine as can be seen from may other comments , so we are not sure what happened, but if you had mentioned at the the time I am sure we could have resolved the matter .Thankyou also for your comments on our breakfast and parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews