We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Friars Rest Guest House
Ranked #42 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and myself have just spent a very pleasent four nights at the Friars Rest. Friendly staff, comfortable and clean accommodation, fabulous breakfast, short walk to Yorks attractions and free car parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roger504093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thanks you very much for taking the time to write in, and glad you enjoyed out full english breakfast , freshly prepared each day with quality ingredients. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 435 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on fri 29th+Sat 30th for my birthday away with the family.We found it easy to find and it was about 20 mins upto the town centre walking up on the riverside,the hotel owners were very nice and welcoming,we stayed in a family room which was very nice and it was on the ground floor right at side of the dining room which was brilliant the room was very clean and we had everthing we needed and would definately go back there as it was in a good place not to far from centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

We do appreciate you taking the time to write in your kind comments about our Guest House. Our family is very comfortable for 4 people to stay in and being on the ground floor has no stairs to climb . We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Friars Rest when we came to the psychology congress at the University of York. Since it was our first visit to York, we tried to make the best choice by comparing the features and photographs of various hotels and guesthouses on the internet. We were lucky to find Friars Rest! Very lovely people, clean rooms and good breakfast! We recommend you to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay, we are lucky to be in an excellent position to walk into the town centre and also very convenient for the University. We do hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

just got back from a 2 night stay , all staff very friendly , has own car par which is a bonus , breakfast ample , family excellent just enough space and short walk to all yorks attractions .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write in and put such nice comments for your recent stay, we do appreciate it--thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We recently enjoyed a family day out at York races and stayed at The Friars Rest B&B. The owners were lovely and welcoming, the rooms spacious and clean with all facilities needed. It is situated near to the town centre and a taxi cost £5. Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order hot and tasty. We are busy planning a return trip asap.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillytrotter2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

An excellent review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with and hope you may stay with us again, Take Care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very clean and tidy and the staff were lovely and helpful. We only stayed one night but would go back to this Guest house again. Close to York, parked in the private car park and was able to leave it there the following day for a small charge which was better than paying £10 in York is self. Breakfast was lovely, too much to eat and drink. We would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our private free car park is always appreciated by our customers, where you can leave your car and take the short river side walk into York's centre. We hope to see you again and thanks for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Friar's Rest and it's been consistently excellent . The rooms are clean and comfortable and the delicious breakfasts are enough to keep you going until lunch time. We stayed in the same room as the previous reviewer and I am not sure why they said the room was tiny. There was plenty space for two of us with adequate floor space for our large suitcase. The location is great with the town centre only being a 10 minute walk away. We will definitely be back again. Thank you for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

An excellent review, thank you for taking the time to do this, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, take care Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#46 of 194 in York
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#36 of 194 in York
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#30 of 194 in York
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $67 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to stay at Friars Rest Guest House. We are a family run B&B situated just out of York City Centre which is approximately a 10 minute walk away. We offer comfortable ensuite rooms, well equipped and furnished, all at an affordable price. Your booking includes a freshly cooked full English breakfast (vegetarian options also available)& Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing