We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Bronte Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bronte Guest House
Ranked #12 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from another fantastic trip to york for the races...myself & my husband and friends have been going now for 7 years, We stay at the Bronte guest house which is first class on all accounts. Rooms are very comfortable, lovely decor, spacious and very clean. Breakfast is excellent, great choice of cereals, fruits, full english, omelettes or scrambled eggs....The hosts Mick & Mandy are very friendly and do an excellent job. Its a short walk from york centre...Would recommend to any one visiting York wouldnt stay any where else...We will back again next year ...Thank yiou for a great stay

Room Tip: Room 3 top floor facing back, very spacious also quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carol2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 418 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Everything was brilliant! Best scrambled egg ever tasted! Highly recommend this great little guest house to anyone looking to stay in York. Nice quiet location, second to none in customer service and satisfaction. Can't wait to go again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waynewhitehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great location for visiting the city, but in a quiet location.
Breakfast was wonderful, with a wide choice of options (and more if you had a special request!)

A very friendly welcome from Mick and Mandy.

Room Tip: I had the 'inside room', which was fine for a single traveller, but probably a little crampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just spent another couple of days at the Bronte with friends. Great place to stay, short walk from the Minster, parking on the front with a permit,great breakfast and great hosts. Will be visiting again in August

Room Tip: Ask for the Romantic Double room of the King size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Thank you to the team @ Bronte Guest House for a great stay in York. The family room was most comfortable and homely. The team made us very homely. Excellent breakfast menu. Our best B&B experience amongst the 3 we had during our 17 days in UK!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlinda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Thank you for making an impromptu stay enjoyable - booked the same day as we travelled - the room was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfasts satisfying and Mick, the owner, was a great host. Car parking was sorted out with a guest permit, right outside the property. It is a ten minute walk to the city walls at BoothamGate, where the whole York experience awaits you. We would totally reccommend Bronte House as a pied-de-terre for anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our group of 3 adults and four teens truly enjoyed our stay at the Bronte House. The location is ideal with just a short walk to town. Parking was available right out front and permits were provided. Mick and Mandy are terrific hosts and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#5 of 47 in York
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#16 of 194 in York
366 reviews
1 mi away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#14 of 194 in York
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 194 in York
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Guest House

Address: 22 Grosvenor Terrace, York YO30 7AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $74 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronte Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bronte Guest House offers quality accommodation in York, within easy walking distance of the City Centre (5 -7 minutes to York Minster). This site not only demonstrates our commitment to quality accommodation at a competitive price but also demonstrates just how much there is to do and see within our Historic City of York. Our pages are by no means a definitive guide to York, more of a taster. I hope you enjoy the following pages and are enticed enough to stay with the Bronte Guesthouse as we are confident you will find our hospitality and accommodation first rate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bronte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing