We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delayed review ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bronte Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bronte Guest House
Ranked #26 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Delayed review ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We have visited this guest house three times now for anniversary away and such and I would only ever stay at the Bronte when visiting York. So warm and welcoming and the owners will do anything for you. The lovely couple even let me have Dippy eggs and soldiers for breakfast as I'm such a fussy eater and were more than happy to let us leave our bags there after check out while we had our last day out in York. The rooms are a delight and so comfy. Could not fault the place. Well done and thank you x

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma Fay Moomin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
208
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

i stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the national railway museum.the owner mike was very helpful,in getting to and from where i wanted to go.excellent service.will recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked the family room/s direct with the owner and got a great deal on our 2 night stay.

Mick and Mandy are a very friendly couple who run this very well kept and clean guest house. They were very accommodating when we arrived quite early in the day. We were allowed to leave all our bags at the Bronte while we went to have a look around the area and have lunch. When we came back at noon our bags had been taken to our room/s and the rooms were spotless. A bonus was that we were also given an extra room key as there were 4 of us.

Breakfast was in a bright, welcoming front room with plenty of choice in cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices and milk. The cooked breakfast had a good variety of choices and it was cooked to perfection, even the omelette, which is always a risky choice, was cooked beautifully. The tea and coffee was plentiful and fresh and the waitresses were very pleasant and patient.

The Bronte is on an impressive terrace in a quiet one way street and is just a 7 minute easy walk to the city walls and York Minster at the quieter side of the city (a bonus if you stay on Fri/Sat - as York is as 'lively' as any city). If you arrive by train, a taxi from the station costs just £4.60.

We were very impressed with the service, the room and the value at this friendly guest house and we will certainly book again next time we visit York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

'We stayed for one night and first impressions were that it was a very friendly welcoming guest house. Our room and bathroom was clean and well equipped. Mick was very friendly and informative. Breakfast was lovely and good choice too! Very filling. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klhm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights Double room 1st floor in Oct
One of the nicest Guest Houses we have stayed at.
Given a very warm welcome by Mick.
An excellent host .
Full of information.
Free parking, 10 mins to Town,nice easy walk.
Lovely breakfast , great choice of starters , all served with great care and attention .
A gem of a Guest House
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BONES12345Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Bronte for the weekend (11th-13th October 2013), to celebrate his 22nd birthday.
I rang The Bronte three week\'s before to see if they\'d put some banners and balloons up for me, if I sent them through the post, and was amazed when they were more than happy to put them up for me...the room looked absolutely brilliant when we arrived, and my other half\'s face was an absolute picture :)
From the moment we pulled up, we were made to feel so welcome, in Mick, and Mandy\'s home.
Both myself, and my partner were extremely impressed with the location of which The Bronte is situated, it\'s just far enough out of York\'s busy city centre, and you can walk in, in well under ten minutes.
My partner even said on the way home \'I really enjoyed it this weekend, and I\'ve been all over the UK staying in different places, but The Bronte is by far the best\', and I agree with him.
Thank you Mick, and Mandy, it was absolutely lovely, see you soon.
Jennifer C.'

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 597Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Bronte Guest house! Located near the city centre and the train station, it's the perfect place to stay in York. The breakfeast was also very delicious and the owners very nice. The room was confortable clean and cosy. We would definately book again for another stay in York.
Thank you again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#47 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#5 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Guest House

Property: Bronte Guest House
Address: 22 Grosvenor Terrace, York YO30 7AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronte Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bronte Guest House offers quality accommodation in York, within easy walking distance of the City Centre (5 -7 minutes to York Minster). This site not only demonstrates our commitment to quality accommodation at a competitive price but also demonstrates just how much there is to do and see within our Historic City of York. Our pages are by no means a definitive guide to York, more of a taster. I hope you enjoy the following pages and are enticed enough to stay with the Bronte Guesthouse as we are confident you will find our hospitality and accommodation first rate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bronte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing