We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“making a fantastic night amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

well to start i want to say a huge thank you to Lucy the general manager and to Fran the assistant manager/ wedding planner. you guys made the wedding of my niece just amazing. The way we were treated by all the staff was incredable. the staff on the day were Jamie in the bar. we had Jao/Daisy/Emma/Chloe and Ina. just a huge thank you to every body. the night went off without a hitch. you all worked so hard it was amazing. Thank you Fran for you help with my son who is dairy and gluton intolorant. you went out of your way to make sure he had a great time as well. i cant thank you enough and look forward to visiting you all again. any body reading this if you want a great wedding with everything you could wish for then tal to Fran. if you want a great stay in york talk to Lucy.

thanks again to every body. all the best for all you do. many thanks Dave

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you very much for a lovely review and for my sweets throughout the day…you certainly kept me & Fran entertained. The whole team try and place as much effort and energy into our weddings at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, and to have such wonderful, enthusiastic guests really make our day and a true pleasure to work here. We try and cater for all dietary requirements, inform us as soon as possible for any requirements and we are always happy to purchase before you come and stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of you staying with us again; it was a pleasure to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed her on the 23rd and 24th March, an anniversary gift from our daughter. What a lovely place it is. Just a 10 min walk from the Minster and in a nice area. Lovely antique furniture made a change from the modern hotels that we normally stay in, and the staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful, the cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection, great place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinty12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

What a wonderful gift, I am so pleased to read we didn’t disappoint on your anniversary. It really is a fabulous location being only 10 minutes away from the bustling city but all calm in the peaceful St Peters Grove. We love it here and hopefully our enthusiasm shows to all customers. Thank you again for a great review and we can’t wait to see you back here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a fantastic stay. Staff were very friendly, room was fabulous (we were upgraded to a beautiful suite), breakfast was well cooked and delicious. We would definitely stop again, and would definitely recommend this lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C Scruton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review! I am really pleased to read that our genuine care came across. Breakfast is always cooked to order, this may cause delay for some people but a freshly cooked breakfast is the best way to start your day. We will look forward to you returning back to us, so we can look after you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have just had my wedding at marmadukes and it was fabulous! Fantastic value for money, the suites are beautiful. But the best thing has to be the staff. The bar staff are friendly, Jamie is brilliant. Fran the wedding and events coordinater is amazing, she literally dealt with everything including putting hair pins back in and holding my cocktail for me while I drank through a straw so that it didn't go on my dress! I was so happy, everything went perfectly. Rooms are warm and clean, facilities are fantastic, 10 out of 10 for everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randfreear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

This is a special tripadvisor review for us at Marmadukes Town House Hotel. Fran our Wedding Coordinator places the majority of her time ensuring Brides receive the due care and attention that you brides to be deserve. A special mention to Jamie will cheer him up no end… we could hear about this for weeks. Thank you for a wonderful review and me and Fran wish you all the happiness in your futures together. Please remember to come in to show us your photographs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed in the York Suite on 2/4/14, for a reasonable price. What a beautiful place! With a private access door, a huge bedroom, living room with full kitchen and a wetroom, the suite was all we could ask for and more! Kitchen had some utensils but the bare minimum so we didnt give cooking a go! But the location is great for a quick stroll into the centre, staff were great and I will definitely go back to stay next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernandoskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your positive review. The York Suite is a wonderfully contained suite, which would suite any traveller being corporate or leisure with the self-contained kitchen. I do take your comments on board regarding additional utensils and I will look into this to hopefully make this Suite more useful for future guests. I am really happy to read you will be returning back to us and thank you once again for a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent our wedding anniversary at this beautiful hotel and what an anniversary to remember on arrival we were greeted with the most amazing welcome hugs and smiles for us both made to feel like bein at home we ad the four poster room again absolutely beautiful nothing to much trouble we were given a beautiful plant and chocolates. It's the little touches like this that make u return so a big big thank u for a wonderful anniversary can't wait to return next year

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. You two were one of mine and Fran’s first customers, when we first came to manage Marmadukes; your positive attitude was a breath of fresh air to us, six months on we have a product we are proud of. Your much more than customers to us, We are pleased you have enjoyed your anniversary with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have just returned from staying at the Marmaduke Hotel with family for a "get together" . I was not disappointed, very professional and friendly staff. The rooms are very nicely furnished and vary in size with showers and rolled top baths. The lounges are made to relax in with daily papers and elegantly furnished. The breakfast room is bright and spacious with your breakfast freshly cooked to order. We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and the hotel played a big part in this.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for a 5 star review! The Marmadukes Team are so excited to read such wonderful comments. We try and keep a relaxed atmosphere down here but being in these surroundings it certainly makes our jobs easy. We will hopefully look forward to welcoming you back here in the non-too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $105 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing