We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York Suite is beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“York Suite is beautiful!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed in the York Suite on 2/4/14, for a reasonable price. What a beautiful place! With a private access door, a huge bedroom, living room with full kitchen and a wetroom, the suite was all we could ask for and more! Kitchen had some utensils but the bare minimum so we didnt give cooking a go! But the location is great for a quick stroll into the centre, staff were great and I will definitely go back to stay next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernandoskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. The York Suite is a wonderfully contained suite, which would suite any traveller being corporate or leisure with the self-contained kitchen. I do take your comments on board regarding additional utensils and I will look into this to hopefully make this Suite more useful for future guests. I am really happy to read you will be returning back to us and thank you once again for a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    445
    173
    78
    34
See reviews for
118
1,078
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent our wedding anniversary at this beautiful hotel and what an anniversary to remember on arrival we were greeted with the most amazing welcome hugs and smiles for us both made to feel like bein at home we ad the four poster room again absolutely beautiful nothing to much trouble we were given a beautiful plant and chocolates. It's the little touches like this that make u return so a big big thank u for a wonderful anniversary can't wait to return next year

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. You two were one of mine and Fran’s first customers, when we first came to manage Marmadukes; your positive attitude was a breath of fresh air to us, six months on we have a product we are proud of. Your much more than customers to us, We are pleased you have enjoyed your anniversary with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have just returned from staying at the Marmaduke Hotel with family for a "get together" . I was not disappointed, very professional and friendly staff. The rooms are very nicely furnished and vary in size with showers and rolled top baths. The lounges are made to relax in with daily papers and elegantly furnished. The breakfast room is bright and spacious with your breakfast freshly cooked to order. We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and the hotel played a big part in this.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for a 5 star review! The Marmadukes Team are so excited to read such wonderful comments. We try and keep a relaxed atmosphere down here but being in these surroundings it certainly makes our jobs easy. We will hopefully look forward to welcoming you back here in the non-too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Early Mother's Day present; visited last weekend.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Had meal at sister hotel Guy Fawkes Inn, 3 courses, good quality. Excellent value for money.
Really enjoyed it. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a petite deluxe room; very nice. Top floor with large bathroom and roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always try and promote our sister inns, Lamb & Lion & Guy Fawkes the food in these Inns are wonderful and have bags of character just like Marmadukes. We hope that your Mother’s Day Treat was one to remember. We will look forward to you returning back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked a 2 night break in the York Suite (wish we had booked 3) , 5 star service on a 4 star rating.
Hotel - staff -location -food first class, could not fault anything .
Parking on site well worth £5 per day as York Town centre only 10 mins walk away.
Only wish the Loft Suite was available for this break but never mind will have to book it on our NEXT VISIT.

Room Tip: York suite well worth booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
This is an amazing review! That is the kindest comment I have read on here ‘ 5 start service’. Thank you, I remember you departing and you cheered me up with your kind comments. Guests like you make working here a true privilege. See you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have recently stayed for 1 night at Marmadukes. What a lovely hotel ! Beautiful,large room with a roll top bath and antique furniture. The bar area and sitting rooms were warm and welcoming .Onsite car park available which is always a bonus in a city.The staff at reception and in the breakfast room were great and made sure we had everything we needed.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickandlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you found our communal lounges and bar welcoming, we love our cosy areas where we get chance to chat to our guests. Thank you for highly recommending us. We will look forward to you returning back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were booked into a four poster room for a one night stay in York, we got a reasonable room rate from expedia which was a nice bonus, in such a pretty hotel. We checked in at 4pm and were shown to our unique room with a huge canopy bed, and roll top bath, the whole atmosphere of the room was elegant and luxurious.

If you like bland corporate hotels, this is not the one for you. But if you like somewhere with lots of character and charm then book in quickly!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a shower, if you prefer showers it's probably best to request it when b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do offer the best rates direct, so when you next book please call us. We do try and aim for bedrooms to be available for 3pm, however if you do need the bedroom earlier please call us and we will try our best to get this ready for you. Anybody who has any specific requests please email us ahead as we do try our hardest to accommodate all requests. We will look forward to you booking direct and returning back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 46 in York
1,541 reviews
0.0 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing