We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to stay somewhere different.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were booked into a four poster room for a one night stay in York, we got a reasonable room rate from expedia which was a nice bonus, in such a pretty hotel. We checked in at 4pm and were shown to our unique room with a huge canopy bed, and roll top bath, the whole atmosphere of the room was elegant and luxurious.

If you like bland corporate hotels, this is not the one for you. But if you like somewhere with lots of character and charm then book in quickly!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a shower, if you prefer showers it's probably best to request it when b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do offer the best rates direct, so when you next book please call us. We do try and aim for bedrooms to be available for 3pm, however if you do need the bedroom earlier please call us and we will try our best to get this ready for you. Anybody who has any specific requests please email us ahead as we do try our hardest to accommodate all requests. We will look forward to you booking direct and returning back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Picked this hotel for a short midweek break due to the style and character shown in the photos and we weren't disappointed. Room was small but warm, clean and the bathroom had a power shower which was great. The bed was a bit hard for me but that is just a personal preference. Staff were very helpful and offered to bring up the luggage when we arrived but that wasn't necessary.
The hotel is an old house and has all the character you would expect with such a building so don't expect modern decor and straight lines. We were on a room only rate so didn't have breakfast but had a sneak peek at the menu and there was a good variety and it smelt good. There is restricted parking which was £5 extra a day.
It is in a good location and only took about 10 minutes to walk to the city gates.
Would recommend this hotel and would use again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. Marmadukes Town House Hotel does certainly have a lot of character far different from modern buildings which are clean cut. I am pleased as a team we have all been friendly and helpful. If you book on a room only rate next time you can add on if you change your mind. We are a fabulous location which is only 10 minutes away from York city walls. We will look forward to you retuning back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Getting here was easy, a £6 taxi from the train station and though parking was scarce, the staff made sure they found a place for all our cars.
It is a boutique hotel situated in a residential area at a 15 minutes taxi ride from the centre. Staff was very friendly at check-in and offered help with luggage. No lifts and all quite small so not ideal for elderly or wheel chaired people.
We were welcomed at the bar with a lunch buffet which wasn't very fresh.
I was upgraded to the loft suite which was great. Lots of space and the high was the bathroom with sauna in a tub. I heard others had good rooms too with poster beds etc.
Basic toiletries, no bathrobe or slippers, no minibar.
Sleeping comfort was good, silent and a comfortable bed.
Breakfast was freshly ordered and of very good quality.
Check-out was quick and friendly.
We had asked for a meeting room which ended up being the next door apartment they rent out. It wasn't very corporate, but did the job.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
I recommend a stay here both for private or business trips.

Room Tip: I recommend the loft suite with sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do have a small car park and we try and accommodate everybody however these are pre booked at £5 per night, so organise as soon as you can with us as very popular. The buffet which you ordered for 12pm was prepared punctually for your conference guest’s arrival I am sorry that you were late and you couldn’t sample this at its best. All bedrooms are individual and when you book 5 or more bedrooms we try and allocate the organiser in one of our suites. Thank you for you review and hopefully the purpose of your meeting was a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here midweek for a last minute stay away, we booked through late rooms which was easy. Check in was at 3 we arrived early and were asked to come back which was no issue as it was such a short walk into time. Check in at 3 was swift and the staff were very friendly. The room was well presented and clean. The decor was lovely and in keeping. The bathroom was nice however the shower head was broken and although it worked it could not be adjusted (room 519) this room overall was great value for money. Breakfast the next day was nice although the addition of beans and hash browns would make a great addition to a traditional full English! The location is great for those wanting a short walk to town and we would stay here again .

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Littlegface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. Hopefully you will book direct next time as rates direct are always cheaper than any third party website. I am delighted to read that staff were friendly and our cleaning standards were on par with your expectations. I have double checked the shower in the room in which you have stayed, the shower head I am struggling to find the issue, it is a fixed shower head but please can you email me with more details so I can repair properly. You will have to email me and let us know when you are due to return and we will get those additional breakfast items in for you. Thank you again for your review and I will await your email regarding the shower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Marmadukes is listed as a boutique hotel. I'm not exactly sure what that means. This has the feel of a well equipped guest house. Rooms in the annexe are fitted out inexpensively, and the laminate flooring and bathroom tiles etc don't do justice to the rooms. The building is in great need of significant repairs to ceilings, external wood etc. The broken and decrepit ceiling fan in the conservatory should be removed . The lounges are nice. The staff are lovely, and the feel is informal. Breakfast was OK. Location is few minutes walk from the Minster. Good value.

Room Tip: Choose the main house not the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCAles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of rebranding to Marmadukes Town House Hotel, most of the rebranding has been changed but we do aim to have all literature completed this year. Our bedroom and bathroom flooring may not be to everybody’s taste but is very practical to ensure our cleaning practices are at the highest standards. Thank you for your comment regarding the fan in our breakfast area, this is in fact due to be removed and we are trying to find a suitable replacement at present. On a positive I am really pleased that you thought that the staff were lovely, and a relaxed informal environment is definitely what we are aiming for here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We do hope you return to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for our 2nd anniversary. WOW!!! We booked the gorgeous Loft Suite for the evening. Well ladies and gents if you are after being surrounded by beauty and character THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. The staff are beyond friendly and make you feel right at home (if not better). The Loft Suite itself is just beautiful, the bathroom is stunning!!!! My only regret is I did'nt book more than 1 night. We wiil 100% be back again and again and again! I reccommend for you spoil your partner, treat a family member (or even be kind to yourself) and stay at this beautiful establishment for either business or pleasure. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is the perfect setting for a romantic evening together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for an amazing review. Our Loft Suite is certainly a treat, with the sauna in the bathroom and cosy living room. You will have to ensure next time you book 2 nights next time…book direct and we will ensure we give you the best price possible. I am so happy to read that you felt at home during your stay, our guests are so much more than customers and I am pleased that came across. We will look forward to your return to Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Having just had a stay at this lovely hotel it's well worthy of it's 4*. Having a speedy efficient check in with friendly helpful staff, we booked into our deluxe double room, and it was a beautiful well decorated with plenty of character.
The next morning we went down for breakfast in the bright and airy dining room, there were plenty on offer from continental to a full English, the breakfast was extremely yummy and good produce was used.
Marmadukes it's a lovely quaint hotel and within a 10minute walk you are within the heart of the city. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will use again for good value for money!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JLB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your comments are so kind and I feel you see what we are creating here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel. The buildings were built in 1881 and they are full of character, no bedroom is the same here, which we believe is just wonderful. We are so pleased that you found all staff helpful and friendly and that you had a lovely breakfast with us. We will look forward to you returning and thank you once again for a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $108 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing