We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early morning drone spoiled our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Early morning drone spoiled our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a mid week break booked through Secret Escapes. We thought the hotel was of a good quality and we had a largely enjoyable two night stay. York is a fascinating city with heaps of attractions. Our room (515) was of a good size and comfortable with heating adequate to cope with the very cold weather. The shower temperature was difficult to control though, with critical settings on the mixer. A very small adjustment would turn the water extremely hot or very cold. One of the bedside lamps did not work and one window had a broken sash chord and would not stay open. The most disturbing aspect of our stay was a very irritating, persistent low-pitched droning noise which started in the early morning on both days. It made our planned morning period of relaxation most uncomfortable..

The staff were friendly and helpful. The lady on reception took our complaint about the droning noise seriously and promised to report it to maintenance. She thought the noise may have come from the bathroom extractor next door. It seemed too powerful for a small fan though. Perhaps the fan in the kitchens? The Receptionist deducted the parking fees as compensation. The young lady who served our breakfast was delightful.

We might consider staying at Marmadukes again but certainly not in the same room unless the early morning noise problem was solved. Considering the wide choice of accommodation in York, we would think a return visit to Marmadukes unlikely.

Room Tip: Avoid room 515 unless you have an assurance that the noise problem has been solved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I am very sorry about the problems you encountered and all issues have been passed onto our maintenance team
I am glad that on the whole you found your stay to be enjoyable. Please contact us directly if you wish to rebook and we will ensure you a room of your choosing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    438
    169
    78
    34
See reviews for
114
1,064
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the sort of hotel we would never stay in again. On arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room. After unpacking we realised no heating in the bathroom the radiator had been switched off and there was no way it could be turned on. We complained and was shown to another room. We unpacked again and then discovered no lights working in the bathroom and the landing to the room. No fire exit lights on The receptionist suggested the trip switch was the problem but not the case. There was no maintenance staff on so she offered us another room. The third room was unaccessible as the key fob was not working. So after all the packing and unpacking we were told we would have to go back to the original room. We have not been compensated for all the problems they caused us they are denying all knowledge. Would not recommend this hotel at all!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a 2 night break at Marmaduke's for the day after our wedding. I did my research via the internet to find a suitably romantic boutique hotel which I thought I had. What a mistake! I booked an executive double room and the disappointment when we walked in was crushing. The room was freezing cold, we had to walk side ways, crab like between the end of the bed and the bathroom wall. We then sat on the bed which then gave a creak like it was about to collapse. Not wanting to start the weekend with a catalogue of complaints we then went back to reception and as we had not been able to get reservations for our 2 chosen restaurants, we asked for any recommendations from the receptionist, who unfortunately was only able to recommend one which seemed to be her favourite but unfortunately didn't take reservations and was walk-in only. Then we made our way through to the bar where we were informed by the same multi-tasking receptionist that ther was no draught beer on, so we chose from a very limited selection.
On our return from a very nice meal out we decided to try the bar again, I ordered a drink for myself and my wife ordered a cappucino only to be informed that the young lady would be happy to make her an instant coffee as they don't have a cappucino machine. We went to bed, and so to breakfast which I have to say were quite enjoyable despite Sunday's full breakfast coming minus mushrooms as advertised on the menu and with no explaination, apology or offer of an extra additional item. Needless to say most of our day was spent away from the hotel and breakfast next morning was enjoyable. York is a lovely city to which we wouldn't hesitate to return but to Marmaduke's , sorry never.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithnKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback
I am very sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us.
The points you made have been taken on board and will be addressed with the Management
I am sorry we didnt meet your expectations and would love the opportunity to rectify your opinion of our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a weekend break through Secret Escapes and never again. We arrived at the hotel and went to our room which was freezing cold (snowing outside) and the room has one lukewarm radiator (on full!) and single glazed windows - the room has no shower and a bath that had seen better days. We returned to reception to request a different room and were told that they had a heating failure in the annex where they had put us and it had been closed all week - thanks! We were then given an 'upgraded' room which was still cold but looked like it could be better....until we saw the bathroom. The shower cubicle was black with mould, the shower itself mouldy and the WC would not flush. We again explained we were not happy and left. They now tell me they have put the things right but refuse a refund as we booked through Secret Escapes. This place is no where near worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback
I am very sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us.
The points you made have been taken on board and will be addressed with the Management
I am sorry we didnt meet your expectations and would love the opportunity to rectify your opinion of our Hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in Marmadukes for a birthday night away in York. First impressions all good - lovely quiet area and a beautiful building. We came by train so didn't experience any parking issues and the walk from the train station wasn't long at all. We had a quick pint en route in the city centre and the hotel is well located for all the main attractions.

When we checked in, the receptionist was helpful and we were asked if we would prefer a shower or bath. She asked where we had a dinner reservation and showed us where the restaurant we'd booked was located on the map, and gave us a good overview of the hotel (times and location of breakfast, bar opening hours etc).

Loved our room and the decor/furniture. Didn't have any issues with the cleanliness like some others have commented. The bed was really comfy and I loved the softness of the sheets - we both slept very well. The room was very cosy - tiny, in fact! Can't really complain about that though given it was called a 'small double' on the booking confirmation. We were only there for one night so the size of the room didn't really bother us, but I could see that it would be frustrating if you were staying for a bit longer and had brought more stuff! The only other mild gripe is that for the cost of the room, it seemed a bit unreasonable to then charge £4 for a bottle of water (even the larger size on offer). Plenty of complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate though. The toiletries that were supplied were also really lovely, and the shower was great with a large cubicle and good sized shower head with decent water pressure. I found the towels to be soft and fluffy and were just the right size (I like big towels!)

We didn't see any of the communal areas of the hotel until the morning when we went for breakfast, and we were disappointed that we'd fallen asleep earlier than we meant to the night before as the lounge/bar area would have been perfect for a cosy night cap on a cold winter's night! Again, really beautiful furnishings. Breakfast was really good, we got sat quickly with no problems and the waitresses were attentive. Plenty of food for continental breakfast and the full English was tasty and a good amount with plenty of toast. The selection of preserves in little jars was a nice touch!

Overall, I'd say that the hotel was a bit over-priced BUT we both said we'd happily stay there again and we were in fact discussing how lovely a night away at Marmadukes would be at Christmas time before we'd even checked out!

Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Alyson,
It was a pleasure to read your review of your stay at Marmadukes, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I am pleased to hear our receptionist was helpful and attentive, that you enjoyed a good nights sleep, and our selection of breakfast.
We would be pleased to have you back to stay, I would recommend our deluxe rooms as they have a shower available and are more spacious. If you book direct we will do our best to fill your requests.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a special occasion and driving up the building looked grand and just as I'd pictured.
Service at reception was good and shown halfway to our room.
Common areas beautifully decorated with antique furniture.
Room itself was a nice size (we booked a four poster room) and the bathroom was huge. Nice decor, antique furniture and beautiful fabrics.
Although beautiful I couldn't help feeling a little let down... For the price.... I feel I got a beautiful version of a travel lodge. No 'extras' which make a £150 a night hotel feel 'worth' it e.g. Slippers and robe or extra toiletries like bubble bath (especially as they have a lovely roll top bath!). And no shower... There's plenty of room so unsure why they didn't fit one...
Breakfast also disappointed. Paid extra for breakfast in bed, but delivered tea but no milk.... Also had no toast... What we did have was lovely but would have been nice to choose items e.g. No black pudding, extra sausage.
Generally would say over priced....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasider453100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at Marmadukes for a weekend away with my girlfriend and was quite pleased with the hotel. It really is a beautiful boutique hotel, with wooden floors and antique furniture. Staff were pleasant on arrival and professional. My only complaint of my stay would be that the bed was quite creaky! This could be an issue if there is some romance on the cards... It is only a short walk into the centre of York so in terms of location it is very good. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Kanowski,

Thank you for taking the Time to leave us your review,
I am glad you were pleased with your visit and the staff were pleasant professional,
If you should choose to book again please book direct, quoting which room you were in previously, we reward returning guests with a 10% discount off the standard Rate.

Thanks Again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing