We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, cold and tatty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a weekend break through Secret Escapes and never again. We arrived at the hotel and went to our room which was freezing cold (snowing outside) and the room has one lukewarm radiator (on full!) and single glazed windows - the room has no shower and a bath that had seen better days. We returned to reception to request a different room and were told that they had a heating failure in the annex where they had put us and it had been closed all week - thanks! We were then given an 'upgraded' room which was still cold but looked like it could be better....until we saw the bathroom. The shower cubicle was black with mould, the shower itself mouldy and the WC would not flush. We again explained we were not happy and left. They now tell me they have put the things right but refuse a refund as we booked through Secret Escapes. This place is no where near worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback
I am very sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us.
The points you made have been taken on board and will be addressed with the Management
I am sorry we didnt meet your expectations and would love the opportunity to rectify your opinion of our Hotel.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
There are newer reviews for Marmadukes Town House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in Marmadukes for a birthday night away in York. First impressions all good - lovely quiet area and a beautiful building. We came by train so didn't experience any parking issues and the walk from the train station wasn't long at all. We had a quick pint en route in the city centre and the hotel is well located for all the main attractions.

When we checked in, the receptionist was helpful and we were asked if we would prefer a shower or bath. She asked where we had a dinner reservation and showed us where the restaurant we'd booked was located on the map, and gave us a good overview of the hotel (times and location of breakfast, bar opening hours etc).

Loved our room and the decor/furniture. Didn't have any issues with the cleanliness like some others have commented. The bed was really comfy and I loved the softness of the sheets - we both slept very well. The room was very cosy - tiny, in fact! Can't really complain about that though given it was called a 'small double' on the booking confirmation. We were only there for one night so the size of the room didn't really bother us, but I could see that it would be frustrating if you were staying for a bit longer and had brought more stuff! The only other mild gripe is that for the cost of the room, it seemed a bit unreasonable to then charge £4 for a bottle of water (even the larger size on offer). Plenty of complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate though. The toiletries that were supplied were also really lovely, and the shower was great with a large cubicle and good sized shower head with decent water pressure. I found the towels to be soft and fluffy and were just the right size (I like big towels!)

We didn't see any of the communal areas of the hotel until the morning when we went for breakfast, and we were disappointed that we'd fallen asleep earlier than we meant to the night before as the lounge/bar area would have been perfect for a cosy night cap on a cold winter's night! Again, really beautiful furnishings. Breakfast was really good, we got sat quickly with no problems and the waitresses were attentive. Plenty of food for continental breakfast and the full English was tasty and a good amount with plenty of toast. The selection of preserves in little jars was a nice touch!

Overall, I'd say that the hotel was a bit over-priced BUT we both said we'd happily stay there again and we were in fact discussing how lovely a night away at Marmadukes would be at Christmas time before we'd even checked out!

Cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Alyson,
It was a pleasure to read your review of your stay at Marmadukes, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I am pleased to hear our receptionist was helpful and attentive, that you enjoyed a good nights sleep, and our selection of breakfast.
We would be pleased to have you back to stay, I would recommend our deluxe rooms as they have a shower available and are more spacious. If you book direct we will do our best to fill your requests.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a special occasion and driving up the building looked grand and just as I'd pictured.
Service at reception was good and shown halfway to our room.
Common areas beautifully decorated with antique furniture.
Room itself was a nice size (we booked a four poster room) and the bathroom was huge. Nice decor, antique furniture and beautiful fabrics.
Although beautiful I couldn't help feeling a little let down... For the price.... I feel I got a beautiful version of a travel lodge. No 'extras' which make a £150 a night hotel feel 'worth' it e.g. Slippers and robe or extra toiletries like bubble bath (especially as they have a lovely roll top bath!). And no shower... There's plenty of room so unsure why they didn't fit one...
Breakfast also disappointed. Paid extra for breakfast in bed, but delivered tea but no milk.... Also had no toast... What we did have was lovely but would have been nice to choose items e.g. No black pudding, extra sausage.
Generally would say over priced....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasider453100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at Marmadukes for a weekend away with my girlfriend and was quite pleased with the hotel. It really is a beautiful boutique hotel, with wooden floors and antique furniture. Staff were pleasant on arrival and professional. My only complaint of my stay would be that the bed was quite creaky! This could be an issue if there is some romance on the cards... It is only a short walk into the centre of York so in terms of location it is very good. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Kanowski,

Thank you for taking the Time to leave us your review,
I am glad you were pleased with your visit and the staff were pleasant professional,
If you should choose to book again please book direct, quoting which room you were in previously, we reward returning guests with a 10% discount off the standard Rate.

Thanks Again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Marmadukes in an executive double room. The room was beautiful, with real attention paid to every piece of furniture and decoration, which made us feel very spoilt. All the staff were attentive and polite. The breakfast was good too, with generous portions that keep you going all day.

The hotel is just a short ten minute walk to the Minster area, so we thought it was a great place to stay whilst exploring York on foot in the day. It's also very close to some good restaurants and bars.

Thankyou Marmadukes for a wonderful break.

Room Tip: We found a very competitive price on Laterooms.com, but contacted the hotel directly to ask if they...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Megan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback,
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us,
I am pleased our breakfast kept you going all day,
You are welcome for the lovely break, should you wish to book again all returning +Guests receive 10% discount.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A beautiful hotel. Very welcoming and excellently placed; just a short walk from the Minster and the beautifully quaint shopping streets. The hotel is traditional with a modern twist, and has lots of original features. The staff were always friendly and the breakfast was delicious. If and when we go back to York, then we would stop at Marmadukes again, without doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your lovely Review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us,
Should you wish to return please call direct for our best rate! All returning guests receive 10% discount off the standard Rate,

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel has very lovely, well-designed and spotlessly clean rooms with plenty of space. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, really couldn't do enough for us. The quality of the hotel is very good for the price, it's not exactly cheap but doesn't break the bank either and it was definitely worth the money. The breakfast was excellent, all fresh and well prepared. Location-wise it's ideal, a lovely quiet street but only a ten minute walk from the city centre. I would certainly recommend Marmadukes for anybody looking for a great base for a York city break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you so much Rachel for your wonderful review. I am so happy that you had such a lovely stay with us and appreciated the beauty of our building.
I hope we can welcome you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $102 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing