We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, friendly and relaxing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, friendly and relaxing!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed here many times, and keep coming back due to the warm hospitality. The guesthouse is fresh and modern and clean, with beautiful gardens to relax in. Located within 5ish mins walk of the minster it acts as an ideal base to explore York and the surronding area. The breakfasts are fantastic!!! Lots of choice on the menu and the bacon is to be recommended, plus there is a stunning array of homemade jams. We take it as a challange to try and sample all over our stay. Finally, Ian and Anne are so welcoming and accommodating, and always bring a smile to your face.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    45
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
74
245
48
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here in early July to visit York and had a wonderful stay. Great location with a short stroll into York. Ian and his wife were wonderful hosts and helped us with a couple of very specific requests. Rooms were very quiet and enjoyed a good night's sleep every night. Loved sitting in the courtyard in the evening, reviewing our pictures and talking to other guests. Parking was a compact, but much better than parking on the street - works fine just don't drive up in a big SUV. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halley2061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Best breakfast in the world (bacon is too die for), Ian and Anne were both very welcoming and made our stay very pleasant and most enjoyable. We will return in the near future. Thanks for allowing us to stay with you in your home, we had a fantastic long weekend, just a shame it couldn't of been longer . Thanks again rick and Jen

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and were very impressed with this B&B. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are gorgeous with masses of choice and Ann's poached eggs are a treat! We liked the fresh fruits and choice of thick cream or Greek yogurt too. The B&B is a short walk from the city centre. Our room was spotlessly clean with a good shower room. We would recommend this guesthouse to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Bootham Gardens for two nights recently, and would recommend this B&B as a good place to stay while visiting York and its attractions. We found the location fairly convenient; it was a bit of a hike from the train station with our luggage, but our nine-year-old managed it with her suitcase and backpack. The walk into town is a pleasant 10-minute stroll which leads you through Bootham Bar directly to York Minster Cathedral; or, with a small diversion to the ruins of St. Mary's Abbey.

Ian was friendly and helpful, and their selection of jams and marmalades impressive. The food was excellent and we had plenty to eat. When we mentioned that we were considering making a trip to the James Herriott house in Thirsk on our way north, we had a pamphlet for the museum on our bed when we returned from our sightseeing later that day.

Our family room and en-suite bathroom was a bit cramped for the three of us, but otherwise clean and functional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first to York ; we were there to celebrate my birthday. After scanning the net we were lucky to find Ann and Ian at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse. There are many things to recommend staying with them, not least being the friendly and welcoming atmosphere they create. Add to this the excellent and extensive breakfast menu, the well provided bed room and the location of the guesthouse, a short walk into the City, and you have the makings of a wonderful vacation in a very interesting City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benchilboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Friendly clean. Good value for money. Breakfast to suit everyone. Convenient location. So much help from the owners 're places to go and eat. Lovely garden to have a relaxed coffee
We will be back.
Love A and A
Edinburgh

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVRIL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.4 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
0.6 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#43 of 192 in York
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bootham Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Property: Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing