We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we return year on year and plan on continuing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Ranked #44 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This guesthouse is just wonderful, the rooms are delightfully, cleans and decorated to a high standard. The location is within a 5/10min walk from the wall, right through a park, perfect.
The owner Steve is out of thus world, he is more than happy to please and goes out if his way to ensure we have pleasant stay, helping my nan feel Luke a million pounds, my mum feel amazing and me and my cousin feel very welcome. So much much so we have returned every teardrop the last four years. I have been brought my partner who was blown away at the quality of thus guest house.

DON'T mess about, thus is the place to stay in York, feel lucky we found you Steve thank you.

Zoë's, Lorraine, Kay, Christine, Carrie, Daniel xxx

Room Tip: Location and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here 8th March for 2 nights and the location of the b and b was perfect.
So close to the centre, Ian was extremely welcoming and helpful and the breakfast choice was amazing and food tasty!!
The room we stayed in was a good size and the bed was extremely comfy
The only negatives we had and these are our opinions and wont effect everyone was the early breakfast times.. we would have liked a lie in on the Saturday. I know Ian tries to accomodate those who do want a lie in by providing a bacon butty but that isnt quite the same as a full English!!!
My other issue was that there werent any bath towels provided (i mean the big body ones) if i had been made aware of that i would have taken my own...
Apart from the two critisims it was a lovely place to stay and Ian and Ann were very accomodating

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This guesthouse was a truly serendipitous find! It was mid-February and snowing heavily when I arrived by train in York with nowhere to stay. The Visitor Information Office organised 2 nights for me in the Bootham Gardens Guesthouse. I was delighted to discover the guesthouse was a separate, modern building which is furnished in a welcoming Scandinavian style. The bedroom was warm and cosy with an ensuite bathroom and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The breakfast menu catered for all tastes and my choices were beautifully cooked. The guesthouse is within walking distance of everything in York and Ian is a helpful and knowledgable host. I enjoyed my visit to York but my stay at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse was the highlight of the trip, I was sorry to have to leave.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stopped here with my mother and daughter. The booking was originally made for just me and n
My mother, but at only short notice my daughter wanted to come with us. Ian was very helpful and went out of his way to help. He let us have a newly refurbished room which is not normally let out. The rooms were immaculate, good sized, and cosy. Breakfast was amazing, the choice was brilliant, with lovely fresh fruits, cereals muesli, homemade jams, fresh orange, from the starter bar. The main breakfast was cooked to perfection, catering to a variety of needs , served with a hot drink of your choice. You could always fill your welcome tray up when you wanted, with quality teas and coffees and drinking chocolates. We bought fish and chips on the first evening of our stay and Ian kindly let us eat these in the dining room, he even brought us plates, and condiments to use, and cleared away for us after. Anne is a lovely lady , and the staff pleasant. A very enjoyable stay, and we hope to return . Thanks. Julie pat and sophie.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ian was so helpful from start to finish, with emails with menus, directions and discount vouchers for york. Booked over the telephone and a 5% discount..
The location is two mins from the city wall gates and is right by great cafes and the catherdral.
The guest house does a amazing menu for breakfast and is such a nice a place to stay beautiful rooms and a lovely house with parking ...very important in york.
Highly recommend for a stay in york.
Jason and cath

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed a weekend to visit my daughter at University before going back to US from a business trip and very happy I stayed here. Location is easily walkable to everything in York, so leave your car in the inside car park. The hosts are very nice, eager to make my stay comfortable and very enjoyable to talk with. Breakfast was delicious and prepared with top notch ingredients. Room and ensuite bath are well appointed and comfortable. Definitely recommend.

.

Room Tip: call Ian or Anne directly for special pricing that you won't always find on the brokered booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farnie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bootham Gardens for 2 nights. the room was very comfortable, free WiFi, huge bed, lovely and warm and plenty of hot water for a shower. Location was great. An easy 10 minute walk to the Minster. Perfectly situated to explore all that York has to offer. we have NEVER seen a more comprehensive breakfast menu. As well as the more usual cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and full English, you could choose kippers, smoked salmon and even Steak...... there was also a wide range of vegetarian options. Ian and Anne also provide guests with a PC and printer to research places to visit and print off discount vouchers. Their knowledge of local pubs and restaurants proved invaluable and we were rewarded with a free bottle of wine at one place and 15% off the bill at another. Thank you for a brilliant stay - we would definitely recommend you to other York visitors and hope to stay with you again the next time we return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJKWidnes_Cheshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#17 of 194 in York
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
1.4 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bootham Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $43 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bootham Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing