We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guest house!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stopped here with my mother and daughter. The booking was originally made for just me and n
My mother, but at only short notice my daughter wanted to come with us. Ian was very helpful and went out of his way to help. He let us have a newly refurbished room which is not normally let out. The rooms were immaculate, good sized, and cosy. Breakfast was amazing, the choice was brilliant, with lovely fresh fruits, cereals muesli, homemade jams, fresh orange, from the starter bar. The main breakfast was cooked to perfection, catering to a variety of needs , served with a hot drink of your choice. You could always fill your welcome tray up when you wanted, with quality teas and coffees and drinking chocolates. We bought fish and chips on the first evening of our stay and Ian kindly let us eat these in the dining room, he even brought us plates, and condiments to use, and cleared away for us after. Anne is a lovely lady , and the staff pleasant. A very enjoyable stay, and we hope to return . Thanks. Julie pat and sophie.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ian was so helpful from start to finish, with emails with menus, directions and discount vouchers for york. Booked over the telephone and a 5% discount..
The location is two mins from the city wall gates and is right by great cafes and the catherdral.
The guest house does a amazing menu for breakfast and is such a nice a place to stay beautiful rooms and a lovely house with parking ...very important in york.
Highly recommend for a stay in york.
Jason and cath

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed a weekend to visit my daughter at University before going back to US from a business trip and very happy I stayed here. Location is easily walkable to everything in York, so leave your car in the inside car park. The hosts are very nice, eager to make my stay comfortable and very enjoyable to talk with. Breakfast was delicious and prepared with top notch ingredients. Room and ensuite bath are well appointed and comfortable. Definitely recommend.

.

Room Tip: call Ian or Anne directly for special pricing that you won't always find on the brokered booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farnie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bootham Gardens for 2 nights. the room was very comfortable, free WiFi, huge bed, lovely and warm and plenty of hot water for a shower. Location was great. An easy 10 minute walk to the Minster. Perfectly situated to explore all that York has to offer. we have NEVER seen a more comprehensive breakfast menu. As well as the more usual cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and full English, you could choose kippers, smoked salmon and even Steak...... there was also a wide range of vegetarian options. Ian and Anne also provide guests with a PC and printer to research places to visit and print off discount vouchers. Their knowledge of local pubs and restaurants proved invaluable and we were rewarded with a free bottle of wine at one place and 15% off the bill at another. Thank you for a brilliant stay - we would definitely recommend you to other York visitors and hope to stay with you again the next time we return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJKWidnes_Cheshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had to go to York to attend a family wedding and was surprised by the huge amount of accommodation in the area. We chose Bootham Gardens due to the fact that there were ground floor rooms available as my mother is not so good on her feet these days and also the proximity to York centre. The breakfasts and the high standard of the rooms was a very pleasant added bonus. The other bonus with this guest house is the off street parking which, as anyone who has been to York knows, is very rare. Thanks Ian for a very comfortable and well-fed break as well as your information on York itself. I would urge anyone visiting York to give Bootham Gardens a try - you won't be disappointed! Ps ask Ian about the gold Marmite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just spent 3 nights in york at Bootham Gardens. Ian and Anne were warm and welcoming and Ian had good knowledge of the area and was very helpful in advising us where to eat and what there was to do in the area. There was off road parking which is a must for us and the room was spacious and clean and had everything you need when away, we were told to help ourselves to tea coffee etc if we ran out The breakfast was fantastic such good choice and freshly cooked to order, the homemade jams and marmalades was vast and tasted lovely . The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well . It was a 10 minute walk into York which was beautiful and well worth a visit. It was my birthday and Ian mentioned it on the menu in the morning ...Nice touch thankyou.
Keep up the great work Ian and Anne and we will definately book with you again when we next come up that way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just got back from yet another lovely stay in York. The rooms are always spotless and the beds a so comfy I never want to get out. The breakfasts are also amazing, a wide choice so suit anyones tastes. Ian always makes you feel very welcome and really goes out of his way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. We wouldn't consider stopping anywhere else when visiting York.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#17 of 194 in York
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clearly Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 194 in York
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bootham Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $44 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing