We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best B&B in York?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Ranked #43 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Excellent hosts, accommodation and breakfasts.Spotlessly clean and within easy walking distance of York. Quiet location.Tea and coffee making facilities in the en-suite room. Wine glasses/ corkscrew provided if you like something stronger! TV and internet access- a real home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 489 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed in York at Christmas time for many years as it is even more magical then, It was our good fortune about four years ago to find Bootham Gardens and have stayed every year since. We agree with comments already posted with the exception of the rooms being bland!! Ian and Ann are perfect hosts and have cracked what a good guesthouse should be like. Just a short walk into York for shopping a meal then back to Bootham Gardens to a glass of wine( glasses and opener provided by our hosts.) Unfortunatley due to sickness we had to cancel our booking this year but we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUISEPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellant as always, been coming here for past 6 years and will be coming for nxt 6 years.
Ian and Ann are brilliant hosts and cannot do enough for you throughout your stay and are always v informative about whats goin on and where in and around York.
Great location, spotlessly clean would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveOSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

on arriving rather later than we had anticipated we where met at the door by the owner ian who gave us a warm and friendly welcome.we found the guesthouse to be basic but bright and very clean.We met Ian`s wife Anne at breakfest the following morning and like Ian we found her to be a wonderful host.I have never seen such an array of choice on the breakfest menu and all cooked and served to a high standard.My wife Lynn and myself would wish to pass on are most grateful appreciation to Ian&Anne for a wonderful two nights stay,and hopefully will be returning next year.For those of you who read this i would heartily recommend a stay here.

To Ian, we both hope you get well soon.

Best wishes to you both for the forthcoming year.

Alan&Lynn Sutton.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fizzywig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a lovely place. The rooms are - in my opinion - rather bland, but have everything you need and are very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the homemade jams and gorgeous filter coffee. York city walls are about 10 minutes walk away, which was a little further than the places we've stayed in before, but it's a pleasant enough walk. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sufi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a short stay in York, from 15th November, 2012 I travelled from Germany. I want to say something about my stay in Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, The owners Ian & Anne are very nice, nothing was too much trouble for them, the are very friendly. The accommodation was to a very high standard, the room was clean, nicely decorated, The beds I found be very comfortable I had a good nights sleep. No issues with noise or other disturbances . Fire safety is of a high standard smoke detectors and alarms in all rooms, In my room was all the facilitation to make hot drinks A wall mounted TV was in the room. The breakfast was very high quality I had the full English Breakfast, the food was clean and well presented, The menu on offer is impressive , a lot of choice. The guest house has computer and internet access which I found very useful to upload my holiday photos to the internet, A very pleasant stay , Thank you. Greetings Colin and Gis

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

One of the best B&Bs I have stayed in - Ian was a wonderful host (even though unwell), the breakfasts were lovely and the rooms, although fairly basic very comfortable (with the biggest bed I have ever seen!), clean and had all the extras you would expect (TV, tea, coffee, hairdryer)

It's an excellent location, walking distance to the town, and Ian was great at advising us on where to head, and shortcuts into town and the railway museum. It was great to receive the pack of information on York that they send out before you stay as well as that helped us plan and we managed to cram a lot in to a short stay.

If going back to York I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arran_EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 194 in York
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#16 of 194 in York
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
1.4 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bootham Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $44 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bootham Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing