We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!look no further if you want quality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Ranked #36 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

On arriving at bootham gardens we were greeted by Ian who was warm friendly and very informative the dining room was spotlessly clean and beautifully set out,we were then shown too our room which was equally as clean and very comfortable (the bed was 1 of the most comfortable I've ever slept in!),in the morning we got up 2 an array of fresh fruit and bread which u can help your self too before you decide weather or not you would like some thing cooked,Ians breakfast menu is out of this world and does not flag in quality either it is every bit as delicious as it sounds!,over all I can not fault this guest house or its owners nothing is to much trouble,we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryleggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thanks, see you soon.
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 489 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have just returned from a fantastic weekend in York and I had to write and give Ian and Anne the review they deserve for their fantastic guest house!!
Ian gave us one of the warmest welcomes on arrival.... the guest house itself is 10/10. The quality, cleanliness and warmth of the guest house has made this the best ever guest house my partner and I have ever stayed.... quality is bar none and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!! The location is fantastic, literally 5 min walk from York Minster. We would highly recommend anybody to stay here, we will certainly be staying here again.
Thank you Ian and Anne.... .Nicky & Tim!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thanks N. See you soon.
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Bootham Gardens. The room was one of the most comfortable we've ever stayed in. It was nice staying in a contemporary place for a change. Everything was of the highest quality, including bed, linens, bathroom, and appliances (including an amazing heater). The breakfast was also remarkable: you can have something traditional or something unique and gourmet, something hearty or something light.
The owners were welcoming and helpful.
The location is on a quiet side street not far from the town center. We walked with our luggage to and from the train station. The walk into town was easy.
We stayed three nights and were sorry to leave. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank DuoFromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thanks for helping put right some of the inaccuracies made elsewhere - much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Ian is a character, granted, but he is helpful and attentive. Anne is lovely. The breakfasts were early but well worth setting the alarm for, which we did without fail. The black pudding is excellent! Whilst chilly on arrival, the heaters are very efficient and warm the place up quickly. The surroundings are simple, neutral and immaculately clean. The guesthouse is well situated and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gouldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Hi
Pleased you enjoyed Doreen's Triangular Black Pudding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Cold Bathroom and Bedroom, Ian needs to get a job!!! he is watching you all the time and found him to be the most irratating host, Breakfast was ok but the dinning room lacks warmth, Ian was waiting with arms crossed for our arrival for breakfast!! seemed that we where in his way!! table was cleared before we finished eating to get us out before the 45 min deadline 8 a.m. to 8,45. Asked to put the room heater off when we went out!!.....Ian would make a good weather reporter all the time he is on the computer telling you the days temp!! shame he did not have the same thermometer in our bedroom,

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank teresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. However, I need to clarify some of your criticisms. At the Meet & Greet we say to all guests “Orders are taken for breakfast between 8:00 and 8:45, but I am here from 7:30, so if you are up and ready please do not feel you have to wait. Earlier breakfasts are available but we request, if possible, that you order the day before. This is because it takes the grill15 minutes to reach a proper cooking temperature (Aga Falcon). Your plates should not have been removed before you finished. We do remove used cereal bowls before serving your main course and we certainly clear used crockery from vacated tables – but never the flowers, condiments or sugar bowls. We did experiment with a later breakfast but by far the vast majority of Folk are keen to get into the town. It also allows us to accept arrivals from 10:30.

Your bedroom room had a very high output Dimplex heater, and your bathroom a high output electric hot air fan heater – both of these were under your control. The heaters are so powerful that nobody could tolerate a room if the heater had been on high for more than 20 minutes. We suggest to all guests that they do not go out for the day with the heaters left on, otherwise you will come back to a sauna. The reason being that your ceiling has 8” of insulation and the cavity wall 4” of insulation and as such no heat is lost.

Thank you for pointing out that I talk too much about the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Ian and Anne are very nice and made us feel at home right away. It is not too far from York centre (about 5 to 7 min walk). The room albeit small is clean, but the bathroom is cold and there is nowhere to hang our damp towels. Having said we did get fresh towels the next day so this isn't a big problem. We had stayed some really excellent hotels before this so it may appear a little below our expectations. However, it is still a great little B & B and I would still recommend it to anyone thinking of going to York. I think one will really enjoy this B & B in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry you did not tell me the bathroom was cold. For six years we have assumed that the guests would find for themselves the switch to the left of the bathroom door that turns on the high powered hot air heater above head level in the bathroom. This raises the temperature immediately. In line with our eco friendly policy we do not use aerosol air fresheners, we open the bathroom windows and ventilate the building. We have used your feedback positively and now show newly arriving guests the heater. Thank you.

The towels have loops to hang them on the 4 towel hooks in the bathroom. Recently we spent serious money on replacing them with towel rails. It was a disaster as when guests used them for support they pulled out of the wall. Our electrician has done a site visit and is preparing a quote for installing electric towel radiators.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

A friend and I stayed here and had mixed feelings about whether we would stay again. On the positive side - spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast and a good location, being a 10-15min walk into York. If you arrive early, you can park, though therei s not much space, and walk into York, but they wouldn't allow us to leave the car there for the morning after check out (which is fair enough if they have new guests expected early)

Downsides - the room was completely lacking in character, small and freezing cold, although after putting on the heater it was too hot. Bathroom was equally tiny and cold, had no bathmat and the floor was like ice. The wifi didn't work, but there was a computer in the breakfast room. On going into the breakfast room at the start of breakfast, that too was very cold and we had to ask to have the heating switched on. Also, strangely, the light seemed to be permanently on as a kind of nightlight, which was very irritating.

The landlord was rather argumentative and a know-it-all - but he cooks a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ca11ieKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you did not tell me you wanted a bathmat. The Welcome Letter we gave you explained the situation in paragraph 3 & 5 of the letter “HELP. We live in the old house please ring the doorbell if you need us, or phone 01904 625 911” and “BATH MATS. We have a large supply but do not place them in the rooms because the bathroom floor is a non-slip safety floor, water does not harm it. If you prefer to use a bath mat please ask for one”.
I do not understand about the Wi-Fi – did you use the password in the Welcome Letter?

The night light is approximately 1/8” x 1/8” and about 2 watts. It indicates that the emergency lighting is working. Sometimes Folk get curious and lift it above the edge of the wall shade. Unfortunately when we service the rooms in the day time it is not possible to see the glow. It easily pushes down. One other guest commented “But do not worry Ian I just put a towel over it”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#16 of 194 in York
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.3 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.3 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 194 in York
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bootham Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $45 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing