We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Brilliant breakfasts for both choice & quality - see the menu on the website. Charming, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hosts. Handy location - 10 minute walk into York, but quiet away from the main raods. Rooms tidy, cleaned every day, provided with TV, radio and a good selection of coffe etc (and choclates !).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GentlemanJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thanks. Your's is still one of the best email ads. that I have seen.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    45
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
74
245
48
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was our second visit to The Bootham Gardens Guesthouse for a three day break. We had two rooms this time and Again we were made thoroughly welcome. The breakfasts are a real treat.

Ian the landlord is friendly and helpful and the place is clean tidy and comfortable. Just a 10 minute amble from Petergate and very convenient for the pubs and restaurants of York.

We have stayed at other places in York in the past, but none of them come up to the standards that Ian keeps.

Thank you Ian. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hi and Thanks. For other readers for Petergate read Bootham Bar.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A truly welcoming B&B! Clean and comfortable. Great choices for breakfast and NOTHING is too much trouble! Will definately return and recommend to friends and family! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireGoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was our fifth stay at Bootham Gardens and it wont be our last. The breakfasts are still as good as ever.

We have now stayed in room 1 twice, room 2, room 3 and one of the upstairs rooms. Room 1 is the biggest.

You really do get a good night's sleep as it is so peaceful. We have never had any problem parking even if it means shuffling around with other guests cars.

I would recommend it to anyone for a relaxing stay with good company and a breakfast worth getting up early for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thanks and a big thanks for the help with the book - starting to break it up into years as am now on 92,000 words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

An excellent all round guest house offering bed and breakfast that very close to York centre.

The hospitality shown was second to none; we were welcomed and treated like family. After a long drive it was so nice to be put straight at ease. Nothing was too much trouble for either Ian or Anne; they offered guidance and shared their knowledge to make our stay one to remember.

The room was aired and spacious. It was immaculately clean, with the choice of a super king sized bed or two separate 3ft single beds, which gave us an excellent night’s sleep. There was en-suite bathroom which had a walk in shower. Fresh towels are supplied for you along with complimentary beverages which are topped up each day.

The breakfast menu is out of this world, a full or part Yorkshire breakfast with everything you could possibly want or desire; starters such as fruit, or cereal, main anything from full English to fresh fish followed by if you have any room left your choice from The Wensleydale Creamery. You more than likely won’t be needed lunch, I know we didn't!

The location of the Guest house is ideal for visiting York and surrounding areas. You can walk into York if fit enough and if not Ian will explain to you where you can park to reach the places you wish to visit.

We couldn’t fault the Guest House or the Owner’s, everything was 5 star except the price. We are booked again and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Book early, the rooms are filling fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_York_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hi and thanks. We love it that, like you, so many of our guests re-visit.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My mother and I have visited Bootham Gardens Guesthouse many times before and the service has always been exceptional. The accomodation has been first class and cleanliness has been top notch. My mother is disabled and can sometimes struggle to feel comfortable in places but the service offered has always made us feel both welcome and accomodated for. We always look forward to the breakfast and the wide variety on selection which is cooked to order.
The location is in close proximity to the city centre making it an ideal place to stay.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzy2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hi
The book your Mum suggested/ordered progresses well - thanks for the chocolates.
Ian and Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We booked the Bootham Gardens to get away from the Royal Wedding Weekend. Before we arrived Ian & Ann had e mailed with our confirmation booking an encyclopaedia of information which was extremely useful of places to see and eat, allowing us to enjoy our 4 days in wonderful York. Like reviews before we arrived and Ian met us with a gracious and warm welcome and showed us to our room which was immaculatly clean and well supplied. Ian when showing us around our room even asked us if we wanted decaff coffee as opposed to normal, attention to detail or what .

Ian & Ann are people after our own heart and clearly believe that a good breakfast sets you up for the day. We were not disappointed in any way. I can honestly say I have stayed in a lot of Hotels around the UK and europe and the breakfast is to die for. The choice is very varied but I saw most people experiencing the Ian & Ann breakfast extravaganza having the full English (Good Choice) all locally sourced. There are loads of juices , Fruit and local preserves to satisfy even the hungriest tummy as well.

Ian's local knowledge and advice about not only where to go but when ,was invaluable and was most welcome.

The Bootham Gardens has got free parking which is clearly an issue with other establishments even in the same road . Walking into the centre of York is a 15Min stroll to help walk off that wonderful breakfast.

Before we left we said to Ian & Ann that we would be back this year and we meant it. Our weekend away was most enjoyable and made even better by our hosts attentive attitude to all who stayed at the Bootham Gardens the weekend we were there.

PS Ian the rocket is established and is growing fine

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMDWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Owner at Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hi
Pleased about the Rocket - email me for the simplest recipe ever for an outstanding recipe.
See you soon.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.1 mi away
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.0 mi away
Bronte Guest House
Bronte Guest House
#20 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bootham Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Property: Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing